Spend the Night [Expanded Edition]

Spend the Night [Expanded Edition]

by The Donnas


$15.19 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Spend the Night [Expanded Edition]

Fuller and more thought-out than their previous releases, the Donnas' Spend the Night furthers the band's evolution from their "what if the Ramones were chicks" vibe into a really cohesive hard rock band. The straightforward lyrics still revolve around "Tonight we're gonna party," "Let's get high in the backseat of my car," and "I'm gonna steal you away from your girl," but using these tried-and-true rock & roll themes with the Donnas' equally simple song structures, their sound and message achieve a kind of rock purity that seems miles away from all of the Britneys and Christina Aguileras out there. Their allegiance to the sound of simplistic party rock bands that were around in the late '70s/early '80s (Kiss, Cheap Trick, Mötley Crüe) joins forces with the snarl of the tough girl groups of that same era (Blondie, the Pretenders, Joan Jett) in a way that hasn't been heard on a major label in at least a decade. Special recognition deserves to go to guitarist Donna R./Allison Robertson whose Ace Frehley fascination used to be cute and now sounds as though it has erupted into a full-blown obsession, but somehow she still manages to put a heavier Southern rock/Angus Young spin on the riffs, demonstrating a real attention to craft that wouldn't have even occurred to them on their 1998 debut. Despite all of this maturity, Spend the Night ain't no Mantovani; the perpetually teenaged foursome still have their raw edges and sharp teeth, it's just that the edges rip deeper and the teeth bite harder with this more efficient and well-crafted rock assault. [An Expanded Edition of Spend the Night was released in 2016, featuring five bonus tracks: "Hyperactive," "Rock 'n' Roll Machine," "Mama's Boy," "Play My Game," and "Backstage."]

Product Details

Release Date: 11/04/2016
Label: Imports
UPC: 5013929917422
catalogNumber: 5058369
Rank: 38028


  1. It's on the Rocks
  2. Take it Off
  3. Who Invited You
  4. All Messed Up
  5. Dirty Denim
  6. You Wanna Get Me High
  7. I Don't Care (So There)
  8. Pass it Around
  9. Too Bad About Your Girl
  10. Not the One
  11. Big Rig
  12. Please Don't Tease Me
  13. Take Me to the Backseat
  14. 5 O'Clock in the Morning
  15. Hyperactive
  16. Rock 'N' Roll Machine
  17. Mama's Boy
  18. Play My Game
  19. Backstage

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Donnas   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews