Spin: Politics and Marketing in a Divided Age

Spin: Politics and Marketing in a Divided Age

by Clive Veroni

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99 $16.95 Save 35% Current price is $10.99, Original price is $16.95. You Save 35%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell’s Outliers and Daniel Kahneman’s Thinking Fast and Slow, Clive Veroni’s Spin is a fascinating investigation of how the techniques of political strategists are being applied to the world of consumer marketing.

In the early twentieth century political operatives did their work in the backroom, a shady place of secret deals and dark arts. By the middle of the century, the politicos were heading to Madison Avenue to learn the techniques of mass communication and persuasion. Today, they have moved from the dim light of the backroom to the bright lights of the war room, the central command for political campaigns. And along the way the pupil has surpassed the teacher.

Aided by masses of data, sophisticated computer modelling, and smart manipulation of social media, political strategists are reshaping the way voters think. And act. Forward-thinking marketers are now adopting these techniques to convince consumers to buy their products. The strategies being used to influence our choices at the ballot box will soon be used to influence our choices in the grocery store.

Drawing on political and marketing stories from North America, Europe, and beyond, Spin gives readers an insider’s view of this stunning turnaround. The book will focus on well-known characters from the worlds of politics and marketing and reveal how all of us will be affected by the surprising new ways in which companies will try to persuade us to vote for their brands.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781770893184
Publisher: House of Anansi Press Inc
Publication date: 08/02/2014
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 256
File size: 812 KB

About the Author

Clive Veroni is a leading marketing strategist. He is a consultant on brand positioning, marketing strategies, new product development, and advertising to a wide variety of blue-chip clients across North America. He lives in Toronto, Ontario.

Table of Contents

Introduction To The New Edition ix

Introduction: Tilt Shift 1

I The End of Mass Marketing As We Know It 15

Chapter 1 The Power of the Passionate Few 19

Chapter 2 Pissing People Off Works 45

Chapter 3 All Politics Is Individual 80

II It's Not What You Say But How You Say It 123

Chapter 4 The Age of the Open Brand 127

Chapter 5 The Ballot Question 160

Chapter 6 Speed Kills 191

III Mindset Over Matter 221

Chapter 7 The Improbable Team 225

Chapter 8 Plan for Failure 252

Conclusion Joining The Debate 287

Notes 299

Acknowledgements 309

Index 311

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

PRAISE FOR CLIVE VERONI AND SPIN:

Finalist, National Business Book Award

“Exceptionally well-written and entertaining . . . The author also provides a compelling argument for reinventing marketing teams to exploit events and expose brands to captive audiences in innovative ways. Techniques featured in the book are supported by well-known business examples, political events, and marketing stories that are highly relevant, powerful, and entertaining, effectively reinforcing how companies and political strategists influence voters and consumers alike. Delightfully captivating and riveting, this is a must-read for marketers and political strategists and is highly recommended for all consumers.” — Publishers Weekly

“Elegantly written, smart, and substantive.” — Hill Times

“Whether you're looking to win votes or customers in our digital age, Spin is well worth a read. And as consumers and citizens, it's good for us to know how political strategists and marketers work their magic.” — Hamilton Spectator

“Years ago, backroom political hacks embraced modern consumer marketing techniques and promptly changed the face of politics for ever. In Spin, Clive Veroni brilliantly illuminates how marketers have now turned to political operatives to learn how moving minds can also move products. Chock full of real life case studies, Veroni’s thoughtful and flawless prose tells a powerful story. This is a must-read for marketers.” — Terry Fallis, author of Best Laid Plans and No Relation

“Clive Veroni recasts the rules for marketing and branding in the digital age — a smart, entertaining romp lush with insight and example. Read it and reap.” — William Thorsell, Editor in Chief, Globe and Mail 1989–1999

“In an approachable, entertaining, highly readable manner Clive Veroni takes us into the world of tribal consumers, big data, open branding, permission marketing, and the rise of individualized targeting. As such he takes us into the world of the future in political and commercial marketing campaigns. Enjoy the read, but ponder the implications!” — Dr. Alan C. Middleton, Executive Director, Schulich Executive Education Centre (SEEC)

Customer Reviews