Spindrift (Coyote Series #4)

Spindrift (Coyote Series #4)

by Allen Steele

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Spindrift (Coyote Series #4) by Allen Steele

Hugo Award-winning author Allen Steele has forged a permanent place in the pantheon of great science fiction authors with his landmark Coyote Trilogy. Now, he returns to that universe and offers a startling glimpse into the future of space exploration—and humanity itself…

June 1, 2288—Europe’s first starship, the EASS Galileo, launches on its maiden voyage to venture into unexplored space. Its classified mission: to investigate an unidentified, possibly-alien object traveling outside our solar system, code-named Spindrift. Soon after taking off, the Galileo disappears...
February 1, 2344—A shuttle from the Galileo returns to Earth carrying three surviving expedition members. The Galileo has been destroyed, and the rest of the crew is lost—but the survivors have not aged. For they have, indeed, made contact with an extraterrestrial race—and become enmeshed in a conflict that brought them face to face with the most apocalyptic force in the galaxy…

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781101208724
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 03/25/2008
Series: Coyote Universe , #4
Sold by: Penguin Group
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 308,690
File size: 486 KB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Allen Steele was a journalist who covered the space program. He later turned to fiction writing and his first novel, Orbital Decay, published by Ace, was chosen Best First Novel of the Year by Locus. Allen himself went on to be twice nominated for the John W. Campbell award for Best New Writer. He began writing and selling to the science fiction magazines and is a three-time Hugo award winner (and frequent Nebula nominee) for his short fiction. In 2012, he received the Robert A Heinlein award for outstanding published works in science fiction.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Spindrift 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
While the events take place on Coyote (see COYOTE and COYOTE RISING, but prior to COYOTE FRONTIER), in 2288 earth time scientists detect an alien object apparently aimlessly floating through space. Though the mysterious entity is quite a distance from earth a team was established to investigate the item, code named SPINDRIFT. --- However, upon reaching their destination in a distant star system, the EASS Galileo loses communication with its European home station. On earth, the assumption is everyone on board died. In 2344, the Maria Celeste shuttle craft arrives in Europe with three on board the only survivors of the Galileo. None of the trio has aged though over five decades have passed since the launch and their vessel contains a drive system with a technology far advanced from those on earth. These three inform Director General Shillinglaw they made first contact with a superior force that could be coming for a not so friendly visit. --- Even as the Coyote audience knows the underlying tale, this is brilliant as Allen Steele uses what seems like a sidebar in the Coyote trilogy to write a fabulous stand alone science fiction (still recommend the previous books as great reads). The story line fills the gap between books two and three of Coyote with a vivid description of the failed Galileo mission. Readers will be hooked as three crew members endured while others died by adjusting to the reality that humanity is not the king of the universe, but instead a rat scurrying to survive. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would love to buy/read this book, but it seems that when B&N included the Coyote series, they omitted to include number 4 of the series. I see this a LOT and would recommend looking carefully before buying a nook.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago