Spontaneous Explorations

Spontaneous Explorations

by Earl HinesEarl Hines


$19.14 $19.99 Save 4% Current price is $19.14, Original price is $19.99. You Save 4%.


This two-CD set contains a pair of very exciting sessions by the great pianist Earl Hines. The earlier set, recorded the same day as his historic "comeback" concert at the Little Theater, was Hines's first solo session since 1956 and is full of stunning performances. The later session finds Hines, a veteran of the 1920s, sounding quite comfortable in a trio with two young modernists: bassist Richard Davis and drummer Elvin Jones. The pianist, in fact, sounds quite youthful throughout these classic recordings, taking wild chances and constantly pushing himself.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/03/2017
Label: Imports
UPC: 4526180429142
catalogNumber: 8042914


Disc 1

  1. Save It, Pretty Mama
  2. Bye Bye Baby
  3. Smoke Rings
  4. Shoe Shine Boy
  5. A Stanley Steamer
  6. Bernie's Tune
  7. Dream of You

Disc 2

  1. Undecided
  2. Fatha's Blues
  3. A Sunday Kind of Love
  4. I've Found a New Baby
  5. Squeeze Me
  6. Tosca's Dance
  7. Jim
  8. Black Coffee
  9. You Always Hurt the One You Love

Album Credits

Customer Reviews