by P.O.L.


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.



After this Los Angeles band released their debut Parade of Losers on the Warner Bros. imprint Giant Records, things began disintegrating almost immediately. Generous airplay of the punk-pop single "Stupid" built the anticipation for the previously unknown group's first full-length offering, but business complications and poor record sales got P.O.L. dropped from Giant just a few months after Parade of Losers hit the streets. Undaunted, singer/bassist and bandleader Tommy Henriksen (alias Da Skunk alias Tommy Hendrix) continued on, releasing Sprocket with the only remaining original P.O.L. member, guitarist Lance Turner (alias Loopiss.) A drummer named Ruby is credited in the liner notes, despite the obvious use of a drum machine throughout this very tight-budgeted sophomore release on the band's own label, Junkrock Records. While the drum programming is tasteful, with 14 tracks of identical snare hits, Sprocket's sound can be a little tiresome. Inserting Ruby's real drumming would probably have injected some sorely needed dynamics to this otherwise admirable indie effort. Turner and Henriksen make the best of a fiscally bad situation by wrapping their not-quite-adequate drum machinery with memorable material and stellar performances. Lyrically superior to their debut, but sonically inferior, music insiders aware of this band's potential will probably consider Sprocket a wash, but fans of P.O.L.'s much higher-profile debut would be smart to go digging around their local record store for this, the band's final recording.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/13/1996
UPC: 0601995710228
catalogNumber: 57102


  1. Head Trip  -  P.O.L.
  2. My Dead Friend  -  P.O.L.
  3. God Bless America  -  P.O.L.
  4. When Will It End  -  P.O.L.
  5. Tatooed Girl  -  P.O.L.
  6. Dizzy  -  P.O.L.
  7. I'll Die  -  P.O.L.
  8. Teenage Hate Machine  -  P.O.L.
  9. God Died in New York  -  P.O.L.
  10. Sixteen and Confused  -  P.O.L.
  11. Working Poor  -  P.O.L.
  12. Home Wrekka Sex God  -  P.O.L.
  13. Ghetto Superman  -  P.O.L.
  14. No One Can Tame  -  P.O.L.

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews