Stéphane Denève conducts Debussy

Stéphane Denève conducts Debussy

by Stéphane Denève

SACD(Super Audio CD - SACD Hybrid)

$36.09 $37.99 Save 5% Current price is $36.09, Original price is $37.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 19


Stéphane Denève has established himself as a versatile maestro with a highly varied repertoire, from concert fare to operas, but his recordings have revealed him to be a specialist in French orchestral music, notably in his coverage of works by Albert Roussel and Guillaume Connesson. This double hybrid SACD from Chandos offers Denève's interpretations of the orchestral works of Claude Debussy, and the lavishly detailed and expressive performances by the Royal Scottish National Orchestra show a conductor and an orchestra in complete sympathy with the music. Because the presentation by Chandos is first-rate from an audiophile perspective, with spectacular reproduction and close-up, credible presence, the listener is immersed in Debussy's dazzling colors from the opening of "Images," and surrounded by fully dimensional sonorities throughout the album, which includes such other masterpieces of impressionist music as "Jeux," "Nocturnes," "La Mer," "Printemps," and "Prélude à l'après-midi d'une faune." When the clarity of the notes, the richness of the timbres, and the depth of the orchestra's sound are appreciated altogether, it's truly a seductive experience, and Debussy's lush and atmospheric music achieves its potential in this impressive package. Indeed, it's difficult to pull away from these gorgeous performances, so prepare to listen to both SACDs in one long, leisurely sitting. It's that good.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/29/2012
Label: Chandos
UPC: 0095115510223
catalogNumber: 5102
Rank: 102694


  1. Berceuse héroïque for piano (or orchestra), L. 132
  2. L'Enfant prodigue, scène lyrique for voices & orchestra, L. 57: Air de danse
  3. L'Enfant prodigue, scène lyrique for voices & orchestra, L. 57: Cortège
  4. L'Enfant prodigue, scène lyrique for voices & orchestra, L. 57: Prélude
  5. Printemps, symphonic suite for chorus, piano & orchestra, L. 61
  6. Marche écossaise, sur un thème populaire, for piano, 4 hands (or orchestra), L. 77
  7. Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune (Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun), for orchestra, L. 86
  8. La Mer, symphonic sketches (3) for orchestra, L. 109
  9. Nocturnes, for female chorus & orchestra, L. 91
  10. Jeux, ballet, L. 126
  11. Images (3), for orchestra, L. 122

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews