Staring at the Sea: The Singles

Staring at the Sea: The Singles

by The Cure


$12.34 $12.99 Save 5% Current price is $12.34, Original price is $12.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 1?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Staring at the Sea: The Singles

Staring at the Sea: The Singles collects all of the Cure's biggest U.K. hits and best-known songs from the late '70s and early '80s. Spanning from "Killing an Arab" and "Boys Don't Cry," to "The Lovecats," "In Between Days," and "Close to Me," Staring at the Sea captures some of the finest -- and most influential -- post-punk music. At their best, the Cure were nervy, intellectual, catchy, and foreboding, all at once. No matter how carefully crafted the Cure's individual albums were, their finest moments occurred on singles like these, when they distilled their essence into surprisingly catchy, but decidedly left-of-center, pop singles. Staring at the Sea not only selects highlights from their uneven early albums, it collects many of the group's terrific non-LP singles. It's a definitive retrospective of the Cure and is one of the finest albums of the '80s. [The cassette version of Staring at the Sea was titled Standing on a Beach and included several B-sides.]

Product Details

Release Date: 03/26/2001
Label: Polydor Uk
UPC: 0042282923929
catalogNumber: 8292392
Rank: 19808


  1. Killing an Arab
  2. Saturday Night
  3. Boys Don't Cry
  4. Jumping Someone Else's Train
  5. Forest
  6. Play For Today
  7. Primary
  8. Other Voices
  9. Charlotte Sometimes
  10. Hanging Garden
  11. Let's Go To Bed
  12. Walk
  13. Love Cats
  14. The Caterpillar
  15. In Between Days
  16. Close To Me
  17. A Night Like This

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Cure   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews