Stars Beneath Us: Finding God in the Evolving Cosmos

Stars Beneath Us: Finding God in the Evolving Cosmos

by Paul Wallace

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.49 $13.99 Save 25% Current price is $10.49, Original price is $13.99. You Save 25%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


In ways both confident and gentle, Stars Beneath Us brilliantly shows God’s presence in the ever-evolving cosmos. Relying on his upbringing as a Baptist, his doctoral work in experimental nuclear physics and gamma-ray astronomy, and his ordination to the gospel ministry in the Cooperative Baptist Fellowship, Paul Wallace weaves a book unlike any other in faith and science literature. Instead of engaging the debates of natural theology or proofs for the existence of God, this is a call to courage for those who fear a true encounter with the cosmos will distance them from God.

With a winsome mix of compelling personal narrative and insightful biblical analysis, the author calls into perspective the scale of the cosmos and our place within it. Relying on a theology of openness to the world, Stars Beneath Us will inspire readers to engage with the natural world in new ways and find God, as it turns out, everywhere.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781506401423
Publisher: Augsburg Fortress, Publishers
Publication date: 03/01/2016
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 164
File size: 2 MB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Paul Wallace is the author of Stars Beneath Us and Love and Quasars. He teaches physics and astronomy at Agnes Scott College. He holds a PhD in experimental nuclear physics from Duke University and an MDiv from Candler School of Theology. He also teaches theology at Candler and at Columbia Theological Seminary. He is ordained in the Cooperative Baptist Fellowship.

Table of Contents

Introduction vii

1 Is This What Love Looks Like? 1

2 Obsolete Cosmos, Obsolete God 15

3 The Fifth Dentist 33

4 An Ash Heap With a View 49

5 Two-By-Two Came the Epidexipteryxes and Vulcanodons 63

6 The Darkness of God 81

7 Learning to Love Leviathan 95

8 Jesus Evolves 111

9 The Whirlwind Principle 125

10 Coming Home 141

Customer Reviews