Stax Profiles

Stax Profiles


$9.78 $11.99 Save 18% Current price is $9.78, Original price is $11.99. You Save 18%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Stax Profiles

Detroit-born singer, pianist, and guitarist Rance Allen, along with his brothers Steve and Tom Allen, made clear the gospel roots of soul with these impressive tracks recorded between 1971 and 1975 for Stax Records and the Stax imprints Gospel Truth and Truth. With his jaw-dropping multi-octave vocals, which could soar into an ether-ionizing high falsetto, Rance never recorded a note that didn't seem to brim with joy, even when he works around the blues form like he does here on "What Is This?," and along with the solid musicianship of his brothers, the Rance Allen Group pioneered a truly American mix of gospel, soul, jazz, and blues. This generous set (it tops 75 minutes in length) includes the best of the group's Stax-era sides, including the hits "I Belong to You" (which eerily presages contemporary urban soul) and the beautiful David Porter-penned "Ain't No Need of Crying," as well as another Porter composition, "Ring My Bell," and a joyous, stomping cover of Sister Rosetta Tharpe's "Up Above My Head," where Rance's vocal soars up into the high atmosphere at the end of lines as if it had wings. An upbeat, bubbling set that is sure to chase the blues all the way back to Georgia, or wherever the blues comes from these days.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/25/2006
Label: Stax
UPC: 0025218861922
catalogNumber: 8619
Rank: 81951

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rance Allen   Primary Artist,Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals,Lead
Steve Allen   Bass,Bass Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Donald "Duck" Dunn   Bass
Ray Griffin   Bass
Willie Hall   Percussion,Drums
Bobby Manuel   Guitar
David Pruitt   Guitar
Lester Snell   Keyboards
Romeo Williams   Bass
Al Jackson   Percussion
Esau Allen   Conga
Annie Mendez   Background Vocals
Judy Mendez   Background Vocals
Linda Mendez   Background Vocals
Tom Allen   Drums,Background Vocals
Phillip Wilson   Percussion
Ronnie Williams   Keyboards
Tom Allen   Drums,Vocals,Background Vocals
Bob Zimmitti   Percussion
Romeo Williams   Bass Guitar

Technical Credits

Rance Allen   Composer,rhythm arrangement
James Cleveland   Composer
Dave Clark Five   Producer
Frederick Knight   Composer
Bell   Producer
Henry Cosby   Arranger,Producer
David Porter   Composer,Producer
Mack Rice   Composer
Sister Rosetta Tharpe   Composer
Benjamin F. Wright   Arranger
Deanie Parker   Liner Notes
Jamie Putnam   Art Direction
Ronnie Williams   Producer
Joe May   Composer
Dave Clark   Audio Production
S. Allen   Composer
Toby Jackson   Audio Production

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews