The Steppe and Other Stories

The Steppe and Other Stories

by Anton Chekhov, Ronald Hingley


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20


The fifth volume of Chekhov short stories completes the publication in the World Classics series of his entire work as a mature fiction-writer. Here are 22 stories, including "The Steppe," Chekhov's first short story to be published in a serious Russian literary journal. All the texts are taken from the highly-acclaimed translation by Ronald Hingley.

About the Series: For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the broadest spectrum of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, voluminous notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780199555451
Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA
Publication date: 08/15/2009
Series: Oxford World's Classics Series
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 775,078
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 7.70(h) x 0.60(d)

About the Author

Anton Chekhov (1860-1904) was a Russian author of plays and short stories. Although Chekhov became a physician and once considered medicine his primary career, he gained fame and esteem through writing, ultimately producing a number of well-known plays, including The Seagull and Uncle Vanya, and a large body of innovative short stories that influenced the evolution of the form.

Table of Contents

The Steppe; An Awkward Business; The Beauties; The Cobbler and the Devil; The Bet; Thieves; Gusev; Peasant Woman; In Exile; Rothschild's Fiddle; The Student; The Head Gardener's Story; Patch; The Savage; In the Cart; New Villa; On Official Business; At Christmas; Fragment; The Story of a Commercial Venture; From a Retired Teacher's Notebook; A Fishy Affair

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews