Storyville 50th Anniversary Celebration

Storyville 50th Anniversary Celebration

CD(Spanish Import)

$26.59 $27.99 Save 5% Current price is $26.59, Original price is $27.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, October 26 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Storyville 50th Anniversary Celebration

One of the more respected jazz labels, much in part thanks to their honest dealings with artists, Storyville has released albums by hundreds of artists in the more than half a century of its existence. To celebrate those years, the label released Storyville 50th Anniversary Celebration, a 14-song sampler culled from tracks recorded between 1961 and 1991. Because Storyville's collection is so deep, the album works best as a kind of broad introduction to what the label can offer from both Danish and American musicians. There is a variety of different styles of jazz here, from swing to contemporary, from artists like Benny Carter to Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, but overall it's a good representation of the label.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/04/2003
Label: Imports
UPC: 0717101109227
catalogNumber: 793401
Rank: 279295

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Terri Lyne Carrington   Drums
Thomas Clausen   Piano
Dexter Gordon   Tenor Saxophone
Stéphane Grappelli   Violin
Johnny Griffin   Tenor Saxophone
Hank Jones   Piano
Bud Powell   Piano
Charlie Rouse   Tenor Saxophone
John Scofield   Guitar
Archie Shepp   Tenor Saxophone
Ben Webster   Tenor Saxophone
Svend Asmussen   Violin
Palle Mikkelborg   Trumpet
Ed Thigpen   Drums
Jesper Thilo   Saxophone
Curtis Lundy   Double Bass
Bo Stief   Double Bass
Charles Thompson   Piano
Kenny Washington   Drums
Benny Carter   Alto Saxophone
Palle Bolvig   Trumpet
Don Byas   Tenor Saxophone
Erling Christensen   Saxophone
Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis   Tenor Saxophone
Niels Lan Doky   Piano
Frankie Dunlop   Drums
Isla Eckinger   Double Bass
Foster   Drums
Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen   Double Bass
Kjeld Ipsen   Trombone
Ole Kurt Jensen   Trombone
Uffe Karskov   Saxophone
Perry Knudsen   Trumpet
Flemming Madsen   Saxophone
Ole Molin   Guitar
Thelonious Monk   Piano
J.C. Moses   Drums
Jesper Nehammer   Tenor Saxophone
John Ore   Double Bass
Alex Riel   Percussion,Drums
Bjarne Rostvold   Conga
William Schiopffe   Drums
Zoot Sims   Tenor Saxophone
Stuff Smith   Violin
John Tchicai   Alto Saxophone
Lars Togeby   Trumpet
Mads Vinding   Double Bass
Kasper Winding   Percussion,Drums
Don Moore Band   Double Bass
Ole Kock Hansen   Piano
Jorn Grauengaard   Guitar
Henry Henkel   Trumpet
Poul Jorgensen   Trombone
Peter Schmidlin   Drums
John Steffensen   Conga
Bent Juul Nielsen   Saxophone
Michael Hove   Alto Saxophone
Don Cherry & Ed Blackwell   Cornet
Svend Båring   Baritone Saxophone
Knud Bjørnø   Tenor Saxophone
Peter Westh   Trombone
Torben Munk   Guitar
Poul Olsen   Violin
Torolf Mølgård   Trombone

Technical Credits

Don Cherry   Composer
Kenny Drew   Composer
Lionel Hampton   Composer
Fats Waller   Composer
Palle Mikkelborg   Director
Andy Razaf   Composer
Kenneth Knudsen   Composer,Sound Effects
Cohn   Composer
Benny Carter   Composer
Sonny Burke   Composer
Niels Lan Doky   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Arthur Hamilton   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Thelonious Monk   Composer
Jacques Prévert   Composer
Bob Russell   Composer
Zoot Sims   Composer
Stuff Smith   Composer
Ray Wetzel   Composer
Mike Hennessey   Liner Notes
Niels Jorgen Steen   Director
Thorbjørn Sjøgren   Liner Notes
Anders Stefansen   Producer
Joseph Kosma   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews