Straight Ahead

Straight Ahead

by Monty Alexander


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Straight Ahead

While Concord continues to release excellent mainstream jazz albums, the label also has an extraordinary back catalog from the '70s and the '80s. Straight Ahead packages two albums -- Trio (1981) and Overseas Special(1984) -- by pianist Monty Alexander, guitarist Herb Ellis, and bassist Ray Brown. The first disc captures the happy meeting of musical minds as the participants explore nine bubbly tunes. While the band can certainly cook on a piece like "I Want to Be Happy," the drummer-less trio brings a lighter touch to classics like "Sweet Georgia Brown." The four-to-five minute length of most of these songs leaves room for extended solos while retaining the taut, intimate feel of good trio work. The live Overseas Special was recorded almost two years later at the Satin Doll Club in Tokyo, and makes a fine companion to the earlier album. Here, the fellows stretch the songs a bit, offering a nine-minute version of "But Not for Me" and eight-minute take of "C.C. Rider." Also notable are two originals, Ellis' swinging "Orange in Pain" and Brown's bouncy "F.S.R." Both albums have plenty to offer to fans of any of the participants, and Straight Ahead is an apt title for the fine music Alexander, Brown, and Ellis make together.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/28/2003
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0013431216728
catalogNumber: 2167

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Monty Alexander   Primary Artist,Piano
Herb Ellis   Guitar
Ray Brown   Bass

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Monty Alexander   Composer
Herb Ellis   Composer
Leonard Feather   Liner Notes
Horace Silver   Composer
Vincent Youmans   Composer
Ma Rainey   Composer
Ben Bernie   Composer
Ray Brown   Composer
Irving Caesar   Composer
Con Conrad   Composer
J. Fred Coots   Composer
Phil Edwards   Engineer,Remixing
Ray Evans   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Carl Jefferson   Producer
Jay Livingston   Composer
Herbert Magidson   Composer
Johnny Mandel   Composer
William Rivera   Composer
Paul Francis Webster   Composer
Allie Wrubel   Composer
Sam M. Lewis   Composer
Philip Elwood   Liner Notes
Yoichiro Kikuchi   Producer
Yoshihisa Watanabe   Engineer
Russ Columbo   Composer
Bruce Burr   Cover Photo
Dick Hendler   Art Direction
Maceo Pinkard   Composer
Kenneth Casey   Composer
Larry Spier   Composer
Gladys Dubois   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Jill Simonsen   Art Direction
Paul Gregory   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews