Straight Ahead

Straight Ahead

by PennywisePennywise


$12.64 $12.99 Save 3% Current price is $12.64, Original price is $12.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, June 18


Ten years after releasing their first disc, Pennywise still sound like they mean it, maaan -- "it" being the assurance that the Man is out to screw you over and might succeed if not for the healing powers of three-chord punk. As ever, Jim Lidberg's drill-instructor-styled bark gets the message across extremely effectively, especially on more in-your-face outbursts like "Greed" and "F*ck the Government." Likewise, guitarist Fletcher Dragge trots out a handful of new tricks -- some lifted from the notebooks of longtime collaborator Brett Gurewitz -- without losing the tightly wound vibe that spurs the tunes forward. While this, the quartet's sixth full-length, does show a few signs of a slowdown (most noticeably on the overly polished single "Alien"), there's still a palpable sense of purpose that separates Pennywise from their more mainstreamed peers. Just as importantly, the all-out heaviness of sound (see "My Own Country" and the booming title track) remains unslimmed, making Pennywise the surf punkers least likely to be converted to Muzak down the road.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/08/1999
Label: Epitaph
UPC: 0045778655328
catalogNumber: 86553
Rank: 32294


  1. Greed
  2. My Own Country
  3. Can't Believe It
  4. Victim Of Reality
  5. Might Be A Dream
  6. Still Can Be Great
  7. Straight Ahead
  8. My Own Way
  9. One Voice
  10. Alien
  11. Watch Me As I Fall
  12. Just For You
  13. Can't Take Anymore
  14. American Dream
  15. Need More
  16. Never Know
  17. Badge Of Pride

Album Credits

Customer Reviews