Stranded

Stranded

by Nathan Huffaker

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.49 $7.99 Save 6% Current price is $7.49, Original price is $7.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Stranded by Nathan Huffaker

“What's happened?” she asked again.
President Russell walked from the nightstand and sat softly next to her on the bed.
“That was the Prophet—we need to get the missionaries out of the country immediately.”
“What?” Sister Russell asked, confused.
“The prophet said we are in great danger and need to get all the missionaries out of the country.”

Kazakhstan is on the brink of civil war, and Elders Schofield and Johnson need to get out ASAP. But as they’re trying to escape, the train they were supposed to catch explodes—and the elders become the prime suspects!

With terrorists on their trail and the whole country against them, the missionaries’ only hope is to reach the US Embassy in Astana—800 miles away.

This jaw-dropping LDS thriller is perfect for fans of The Saratov Approach. With a fast-paced plot and tons of twists, this is one book you won’t be able to put down.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781462124039
Publisher: Cedar Fort, Incorporated/CFI Distribution
Publication date: 04/14/2015
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 794 KB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Stranded 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
rhonda1111RL More than 1 year ago
5 STARS This is a good LDS action, suspense novel. It definitely preaches LDS beliefs but it is just part of the story. The main characters are two missionaries in Kazakhstan. Another character is the Mission President of Kazakhstan. President Howard Russell of the Kazakhstan Astana Mission received a call in the middle of night telling him to get his missionaries out of the country they were in danger. He started making calls right then. Elder Johnson was from Texas his Russian was coming along with a strong accent. He was really positive. Elder Schofield was at the end of his mission. He was good in talking Russian Elder Johnson and Schofield had to get off the train because of left behind passport and their train blew up. President Russell thought they were dead. The Elders were suspected by the Police as the terrorists who blew the train. The Mafia wanted them dead because they could finger the bomber. The Elders could not get ahold of anyone with there phone and bags blown up on the train. They needed to get to the US Embassy in Astana before it closed in a few days. This is exciting with the two missionaries trying to get help but every time someone is blowing things up. Elder Johnson never stops trying to teach the gospel along the journey to those he comes in contact with. Elder Schofield keeps growing his faith along the way. There is a lot of people willing to help the Elders along the way. I don't know if I would help two young men that the police wanted as bombers. It would be scary with bombs going off all over and the army taking over the country. One of the policeman that works on catching terrorists Michael had met the missionaries the day before the bombing and was given the Book of Mormon. He just wanted to learn about their beliefs to see if they were a danger or not. I did not put the book down until I had finished the story. I would read more from Nathan Huffaker in the future. I was given Stranded by Cedar Fort so that I could give a honest book review and be part of Stranded blog tour. Stranded” blog tour schedule:April 22: The Stubby Pencil April 23: April 24: I Love to Read and Review Books April 25: Readalot April 26: Reidhead Random-ness April 27: April 28: My Book Addiction and More April 29: Mel’s Shelves April 30: May 1: Bookworm Lisa May 2: May 3: May 4: May 5: Emmy Mom May 6: Posted by rhonda1111 at 9:00 PM Email ThisBlogThis!Share to TwitterShare to FacebookShare to Pinterest No comments: Post a Comment Links to this post Create a Link Newer Post Older Post Home Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom) Followers Share it Total Pageviews 86185 Follow by Email
HollyKelly More than 1 year ago
What an amazing surprise. This is the first book I’ve read by Nathan Huffaker, and I don’t often read LDS fiction. But I gave this book a chance. I didn’t regret it. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat and desperately turning pages. Stranded is the story of two missionaries caught up in a war torn country. Hunted by terrorists and law enforcement alike, they miraculously remain one step ahead of them dodging bullets and explosions meant to take their lives. They don’t emerge completely unscathed, but with the Lord’s help, they find the strength to press on. It’s amazing how the author can create such a suspenseful book, and at the same time weave in gospel messages of love and hope. The missionaries may be running for their lives, but they never forget who they are and why they’re there in the first place. I highly recommend this book to all LDS readers and lovers of suspense! I look forward to more adventures from Nathan Huffaker!
njgrambo More than 1 year ago
Two missionaries stranded in a country exploding in civil war and their mission president searching for them? Now that’s a plot that pulled me in and wouldn't let me quit reading until long past my usual bedtime. I expected predictable, some of it was, but many of the twists and turns that led to a nail-biting conclusion took me by surprise. The writing is good, but the author might consider using a thesaurus. Some words ("slowly", "quickly", “softly”) are used too often and could be cut or replaced with other choices. In spite of that annoyance, I enjoyed the book and hope that Nathan Huffaker has more stories to tell.