Strange Breaks & Mr. Thing, Vol. 3

Strange Breaks & Mr. Thing, Vol. 3

by Mr. Thing


$16.57 $17.99 Save 8% Current price is $16.57, Original price is $17.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 1


The first two volumes of Strange Breaks & Mr. Thing were released in 2008 and 2009. Released a few years later, volume three came as a pleasant surprise. As with the first two volumes -- and with many of the BBE label's other DJ-oriented sets -- the third volume consists of a mix and a second disc of the tracks presented in collector-friendly unmixed form. Mr. Thing sticks mostly to '70s selections here, setting the mood with Disco Orchestral's "Do It Again" (1976), a sleazy extended interlude ("Come on, baby...") that owes a bit to Isaac Hayes' "Do Your Thing." Two standouts involve production from H.B. Barnum: "La Da Da" (1975), uplifting big-band funk from Dynamic Concept, and a sparse version of "Nature Boy" (1970), recorded by Sharon Cash. Best of all is "Giving Up," released on Sussex in 1973 by Faith, Hope & Charity's Zulema (also a highlight of François K's Choice: A Collection of Classics). A fair portion will appeal strictly to diggers and those who have exhausted the soul/funk basics and are into curiosities and oddball marginalia. Take Amral's Trinidad Cavaliers, who contribute a rugged steel-drum version of Ripple's "I Don't Know What It Is, But It Sure Is Funky," or the tripped-out instrumentals credited to James Asher and Özel Türkbas. Mr. Thing's interjections and turntable tricks are unobtrusive; transitions are frequently eased with subtle scratching and/or sampled maniacal laughter. The unmixed disc contains a few tracks not present in the 25-minute shorter mix: the Internationals' "Give a Damn," the Graham Walker Sound's "Crossroads," Chuck Jackson's "Candy," Spunk's Seawind-with-synthesizers "La Bimini," and critically undervalued guitarist David T. Walker's instrumental version of Bob Dylan's "Lay Lady Lay."

Product Details

Release Date: 05/20/2014
Label: Bbe
UPC: 0730003121821
catalogNumber: 218
Rank: 93752

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Thing   Primary Artist
Jesse Boyce   Bass,Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Randy Guidry   Background Vocals
Richard Waters   Timbales
Michael White   Percussion,Drums
Tracy Wright   Bass
Jimmy Levine   Background Vocals
Cinnamon & Peaches   Background Vocals
Buzz Cooper   Tambourine
Edmond   Drums

Technical Credits

James Asher   Producer
Bob Dylan   Composer
Harry Beckett   Composer
Gene Page   Arranger
David T. Walker   Arranger,Producer
Bobby Wood   Composer
Zulema   Arranger
Hidle Brown Barnum   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Jesse Boyce   Producer
P. Edney   Composer
John Fiddy   Arranger,Producer
John H. Fitch   Composer
Tony Hatch   Composer
Alan Hawkshaw   Producer
Paul L. Kyser   Composer
Trevor Lawrence   Arranger
Albert Lowe   Composer
Bobby Taylor   Producer
Rich Tufo   Composer,Producer
Eddie Youngblood   Engineer
J. Levine   Composer
Marv Stuart   Executive Producer
Tony Palmer   Producer
Jesper Christiansen   Licensing
Richard Poindexter   Composer,Producer
Robert Poindexter   Composer,Producer
Harry South   Composer
Hosea Wilson   Producer
Bernice Petkere   Composer
Robert Beavers   Composer
Brian "Keys" Tharme   Composer
Don Schroeder   Producer
Steve Royal   Producer
Ozel Turkbas   Producer
Jimmy Levine   Producer
BLT   Arranger
Glenn Dixon   Arranger
John Jack   Producer
Dennis Taylor   Composer
Jack Hill   Composer
Peter Joyner   Composer
R. Goldman   Composer
Peter Shelley   Producer
John Lee   Engineer
Jacqueline Members   Composer
Calypan   Producer
K. Gilson   Composer
Kyser   Producer
Donald White   Producer
Vetry   Producer
Ray Jordan Lewis   Composer
Michael Joseph   Cover Photo

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews