Strange Days [50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition] [2 CD]

Strange Days [50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition] [2 CD]

by The Doors The Doors

CD(Expanded / Anniversary Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, November 2


Many of the songs on Strange Days had been written around the same time as the ones that appeared on The Doors, and with hindsight one has the sense that the best of the batch had already been cherry-picked for the debut album. For that reason, the band's second effort isn't as consistently stunning as their debut, though overall it's a very successful continuation of the themes of their classic album. Besides the hit "Strange Days," highlights included the funky "Moonlight Drive," the eerie "You're Lost Little Girl," and the jerkily rhythmic "Love Me Two Times," which gave the band a small chart single. "My Eyes Have Seen You" and "I Can't See Your Face in My Mind" are minor but pleasing entries in the group's repertoire that share a subdued Eastern psychedelic air. The 11-minute "When the Music's Over" would often be featured as a live showstopper, yet it also illustrated their tendency to occasionally slip into drawn-out bombast. [Strange Days was reissued as a two-CD remastered 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition in 2017, with the album's original stereo mix on the first disc and the original mono mix on the second disc. The set also included liner notes by music journalist David Fricke and a selection of photographs.]

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/17/2017
Label: Elektra / Wea
UPC: 0081227931872
catalogNumber: 564359
Rank: 5432


Disc 1

  1. [Untitled]
  2. [Untitled]
  3. [Untitled]
  4. [Untitled]
  5. [Untitled]
  6. [Untitled]
  7. [Untitled]
  8. [Untitled]
  9. [Untitled]
  10. [Untitled]

Disc 2

  1. Starnge Days
  2. You're Lost Little Girl
  3. Love Me Two Times
  4. Unhappy Girl
  5. Horse Latitudes
  6. Moonlight Drive
  7. People Are Strange
  8. My Eyes Have Seen You
  9. I Can't See Your Face in My Mind
  10. When the Music's Over

Album Credits

Customer Reviews