Strange Frontier [Bonus Tracks]

Strange Frontier [Bonus Tracks]

by Roger Taylor


$15.35 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.35, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Strange Frontier [Bonus Tracks]

With Strange Frontier, Roger Taylor seemed to try and cast himself as a British version of Bruce Springsteen, writing a set of songs that were similar to the gutsy and anthemic work of the American rock hero. The similarity went as far as the lyrics, many of which focused on working-class politics. Taylor even throws in a Springsteen cover, "Racing in the Street," for good measure. The differences between Taylor's music here and Springsteen's lie both in Taylor's production, which added some artsier ideas such as the symphonic break in "Killing Time," and in his vocals, which stray more into melodramatic territory than Springsteen ever has. For the most part, the concept works. The album is far from original, but Taylor is an accomplished enough songwriter that he doesn't come off like a poor man's Springsteen. The cover of Dylan's "Masters of War" is a bit bombastic but much of the rest of the album is fairly convincing with the title track and "Man on Fire" being among the highlights. Interestingly enough, Taylor's music is far more reliant on drum machines and synthesizers here than on his previous Fun in Space. [The 2015 Omnivore reissue of Strange Frontier features five bonus tracks, including remixed versions of "Man on Fire," "I Cry For You," and "Strange Frontier," as well as the 12" single B-side, non-album track, "Two Sharp Pencils (Get Bad)."]

Product Details

Release Date: 03/23/2015
Label: Omnivore Recordings
UPC: 0816651016792
catalogNumber: 101679
Rank: 49722

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews