Strange Skies (Burn Out Series #2)

Strange Skies (Burn Out Series #2)

by Kristi Helvig

Hardcover

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, June 21

Overview

Action, adventure, and romance are heating up in this sequel to the futuristic science fiction thriller Burn Out. Perfect for fans of Across the Universe and The Memory of After.



Caelia is the new Earth. That's what the Consulate told everyone and, against all odds, Tora finally has made it there. She can't see the ocean from her cell in the Consulate's containment center, and she doesn't know what happened to the weapons her father died for and she's risked her life to save. But as she plans her escape, she runs into the last person she ever expected to see—her dad. The Consulate has held him prisoner in a complicated plot designed to lure Tora out of hiding. Now Tora has a new purpose: break free, get the guns, and save her father. But first she'll have to navigate a strange new planet, track down James (whose loyalties still remain questionable), and find Kale . . . before he finds her first.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781606844816
Publisher: Lerner Publishing Group
Publication date: 04/28/2015
Series: Burn Out Series , #2
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 1,106,026
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.20(d)
Lexile: HL640L (what's this?)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Kristi Helvig is a Ph.D. clinical psychologist turned sci-fi/fantasy author. Her first novel, BURN OUT, which Kirkus Reviews

called "a scorching series opener not to be missed," follows 17-year-old Tora Reynolds, one of Earth's last survivors, when our sun burns out early. In the sequel, STRANGE SKIES, Tora makes it to a new planet only to discover a whole new host of problems—and the same people who still want her dead. Kristi muses about Star Trek, space monkeys, and other assorted topics on her blog at www.kristihelvig.com and Twitter (@KristiHelvig). You can also find her on Facebook. Kristi resides in sunny Colorado with her hubby, two kiddos, and behaviorally-challenged dogs.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Strange Skies 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
KKetch More than 1 year ago
Not as thrilling and suspenseful as the first novel, Burn Out, but definitely a great read. I can't wait for the third.
Addicted_Readers More than 1 year ago
4 Stars A thrilling second installment, STRANGE SKIES was more then I anticipated, and left me yearning for more! After reading book one, and not really liking it as much as I hope too, but still liking it enough to have me wanting to read the sequel, I was a little reluctant to read STRANGE SKIES. But no worries, because STRANGE SKIES has proved to be more thrilling then I ever hoped, and surpassed it's predecessor in more ways then one. Kristi Helvig steps up the plot in this action-packed sequel that kept me on my toes and flipping the pages faster then I could read them. I was quickly sucked back into this world and after that heart-pounding cliffhanger, I was eager to see where it all goes from there. We got a ton load of more action in this sequel, and that's one thing that I thought book one lacked. Don't get me wrong, it did have it's fair share, but not as much as STRANGE SKIES, and not enough to appease my craving. But STRANGE SKIES turned out to be everything I hoped it be and more. But I loved being back with these characters and reliving their obstacles and struggles on this new planet Caelia, that has now become their new Earth. It was great to see them all finally get off of that sun scorched planet, and out into the cool sunny planet of Caelia. And now able to deal with their other issues that's been weighing them down, like The Consulate, and the back stabbing Kale that planed her assassination, and the treacherous boy she thought she loved. THE PLOT: Tora has finally made it off of Earth and to the livable planet of Caelia, but not the way she wanted. After being back-stabbed by someone she thought cared about her, she finds herself in the worst place she could possibly imagine, in the hands of The Consulate... Now kidnapped against her will, drugged and brainwashed to think The Consulate is on her side, Tora is unsure what to think anymore. Until the drugs wear off, and it all starts rushing back... She was shot, taken hostage, and is now dosed with this good feeling drug around the clock to keep her compliant. But most horrifying of all, she's with The Consulate.. Tora has not fought her way though losing her complete family, a deserted planet, backstabbers around every corner, just to lay down and give it all up to The Consulate. But just when the odds seem to be stacked against her, Tora gets the break she's been waiting for. A past ally from the resistance comes to her aid and helps her break out of the hell The Consulate has been holding her at, and leads her strait into the hands of another enemy. Tora will have to determine who is friend and who is foe, while discovering the key to ending it all is through the guns that were stolen from her. But with the help of unexpected allies, Tora may just have the backup she needs to stop Kale and taken down The Consulate once and for all... Overall, STRANGE SKIES was a thrilling, heart-pounding sequel that you don't want to miss. Even though I did have some qualms about reading it due to my lack of feelings for book one. But nevertheless STRANGE SKIES proved me wrong and has me desperately craving book three and what's to come next in Tora's epic journey. If you like thrilling dystopians with action and adventure, and a fight for survival, with an awesome cast of characters, then STRANGE SKIES should definitely be your next read, as it does not disappoint! NOTE: I received a physical ARC from Egmont USA for reviewing purposes! All opinions express are my own and are not influenced in any way!