Strauss: Ariadne on Naxos

Strauss: Ariadne on Naxos

by Christine Brewer


$28.49 $29.99 Save 5% Current price is $28.49, Original price is $29.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 21

Product Details

Release Date: 09/28/2010
Label: Chandos
UPC: 0095115316825
catalogNumber: 3168
Rank: 278430


  1. Der Bürger als Edelmann (Le bourgeois gentilhomme), suite from the ballet for orchestra, Op. 60-IIIa (TrV 228c)

    1. No. 1. Overture  (04:02)
    2. No. 2. Minuet  (01:37)
    3. No. 3. The Fencing Master  (01:44)
    4. No. 4. Entry and Dance of the Tailors  (05:13)
    5. No. 5. Lully's Minuet  (02:26)
    6. No. 6. Courante  (02:28)
    7. No. 7. Entry of Cléonte (after Lully)  (04:21)
    8. No. 8. Intermezzo  (03:10)
    9. No. 9. The Dinner  (10:18)
  2. Ariadne auf Naxos, opera, Op. 60-II (TrV 228a) (revised version)

    1. The Opera. Overture  (03:39)
    2. The Opera. Sleeping?  (03:50)
    3. The Opera. Ah!  (02:51)
    4. The Opera. A golden time was Theseus-Ariadne  (06:41)
    5. The Opera. Loving, hating, hoping, fearing  (02:03)
    6. The Opera. There is a land, a world untainted  (05:43)
    7. The Opera. The lady, we are sad to see  (04:38)
    8. The Opera. Your gracious Royal Highness  (03:16)
    9. The Opera. The moment I think I'm true to one lover  (06:55)
    10. Prologue. Orchestral Introduction  (02:23)
    11. The Opera. Quite a sermon, but a waste of effort  (01:28)
    12. Prologue. My good Major-Domo  (03:12)
    13. The Opera. To console a stubborn woman  (06:16)
    14. Prologue. This dressing room is given to mam'zelle Zerbinetta  (05:41)
    15. The Opera. A shining marvel, a youthful God!  (04:22)
    16. Prologue. I can show them the secrets of the universe  (03:09)
    17. The Opera. Circe, Circe can you still hear me?  (04:57)
    18. Prologue. Fellow actors, dearest of friends  (03:08)
    19. The Opera. Theseus!  (04:26)
    20. Prologue. The company's rising from table  (04:35)
    21. The Opera. Me? Can you be sure?  (09:09)
    22. Prologue. I'm staggered - how unexpected!  (04:21)
    23. The Opera. Shall we not pass over?  (07:25)
    24. Prologue. She takes him for the God of Death  (04:29)
    25. Prologue. A moment means nothing  (04:06)
    26. Prologue. The stage awaits you  (04:40)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Strauss: Ariadne on Naxos 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Ted_Wilks More than 1 year ago
Overall, I really enjoyed listening to this recording. The 35-minute suite from "Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme" was played beautifully by the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, including the 3 soloists. "Ariadne auf Naxos" sounded fine to me in English rather than in German. All of the singers aquitted themselves nobly. I particularly liked having the English libretto in front of me while I was listening to the opera and found that this convenience, plus the program notes, were very helpful. On the other hand, I have to admit that I prefer to see an opera, rather than to hear it from CDs. In fact, I recently purchased a new DVD of this opera with Deborah Voight and Natalie Dessay. I have also enjoyed my old VHS tape recording with Jessie Norman and Kathleen Battle. As usual, with some performances, one sometimes has to suspend disbelief in order to hear a great voice. Ted Wilks