Stravinsky's Late Music

Stravinsky's Late Music

by Joseph N. Straus, Ian Bent
Pub. Date:
Cambridge University Press

Paperback - Rent for

Select a Purchase Option (New Edition)
  • purchase options
    $58.69 $67.00 Save 12% Current price is $58.69, Original price is $67. You Save 12%.
  • purchase options


Stravinsky's Late Music

This book is the first to be devoted to the music of Stravinsky's last compositional period. In the early 1950s, Stravinsky's compositional style began to change and evolve with astonishing rapidity. He abandoned the musical neoclassicism to which he had been committed for the preceding three decades and, with the stimulus provided by his newly gained knowledge of the music of Schoenberg and Webern, launched himself on a remarkable voyage of compositional discovery. The book focuses on five historical, analytical, and interpretive issues: Stravinsky's relationship to his serial predecessors and contemporaries; his compositional process; the problem of creating formal continuity in a repertoire so obviously discontinuous in so many ways; the problem of writing serial harmony; and the problem of expression and meaning. Challenging conventional interpretations, the book shows that Stravinsky's serial music is not only of great historical significance, but also of astonishing structural originality and emotional power.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780521602884
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 02/28/2004
Series: Cambridge Studies in Music Theory and Analysis Series , #16
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 280
Product dimensions: 6.85(w) x 9.72(h) x 0.59(d)

Table of Contents

1. Stravinsky in the 'age of serialism'; 2. Compositional process; 3. Form; 4. Harmony; 5. Expression and meaning.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews