Sub Mission: The Best of U.K. Subs 1982-1998

Sub Mission: The Best of U.K. Subs 1982-1998

by U.K. Subs


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Sub Mission: The Best of U.K. Subs 1982-1998

Whenever the first wave of U.K. punk is mentioned, such usual suspects as the Sex Pistols, the Clash, and the Damned immediately and automatically come to mind. But there were obviously countless other acts that flew the punk flag during the late '70s, such as the U.K. Subs. While many of their pals from the era ultimately fell by the wayside, the Subs continued to plow on, as evidenced by the 2000 double-disc set Sub Mission: The Best of U.K. Subs 1982-1998. Although the group's glory days are pinpointed to such releases as 1979's Another Kind of Blues and 1980's Brand New Age by many fans, the Subs did manage to release quite a few subsequent strong tracks. The albums they were featured on were not always up to snuff, so that's where a compilation such as this comes in handy -- to put a spotlight on worthy tracks that would normally slip through the cracks. Quite a few punk acts of the late '70s softened their sound during this era, but the Subs admirably stick close to the original game plan on such standouts as "Police State," "Self Destruct," and "Another Typical City." And to entice longtime fans into purchasing the set, the second disc is comprised of a concert CD, recorded live at Bristol in 1991. Long considered one of punk's high-energy live acts (check out the DVD Punk Can Take It for the proof), the Subs still deliver at this latter stage of their career, especially on "You Don't Belong" and "Emotional Blackmail." Sub Mission combined with the Subs' aforementioned 1979 and 1980 albums will do a solid job of showcasing the highlights of one of punk's more underrated acts.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/27/2000
Label: Fall Out Uk
UPC: 5013145305522
catalogNumber: 55

Album Credits

Performance Credits

U.K. Subs   Primary Artist
Knox   Guitar
Rab Fae Beith   Drums
Pete Davies   Drums
Flea   Bass
Alvin Gibbs   Bass,Vocals
Charlie Harper   Vocals
Alan Lee   Guitar
Andy McCoy   Guitar
Bryan Barnes   Bass
Darrel Barth   Guitar
David Ayer   Drums
Brian Barnes   Bass
Alan Campbell   Guitar
Matthew McCoy   Drums
Captain Scarlet   Guitar
Kim Wylie   Drums
Steve Slack   Bass
Belvy K.   Drums
Nicky Garratt   Guitar,Vocals
Karl Morris   Guitar
Steve L. Roberts   Drums
John Armitage   Bass
Andy F.   Bass

Technical Credits

Rod Argent   Composer
Toten Hosen   Composer
Alvin Gibbs   Composer
Barry Green   Composer
Charlie Harper   Arranger,Composer
Paul Slack   Composer
U.K. Subs   Composer
Alan Campbell   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Nicky Garratt   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews