Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery: A Novel

Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery: A Novel

by Jenny Colgan

Paperback

$14.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, May 29

Overview

For fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Jojo Moyes, and Jane Green, Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery is an irresistible novel—moving and funny, soulful and sweet—about happiness, heartache, and hope. And recipes.

A thriving bakery. A lighthouse to call home. A handsome beekeeper. A pet puffin. These are the things that Polly Waterford can call her own. This is the beautiful life she leads on a tiny island off the southern coast of England.

But clouds are gathering on the horizon. A stranger threatens to ruin Polly’s business. Her beloved boyfriend seems to be leading a secret life. And the arrival of a newcomer—a bereft widow desperately searching for a fresh start—forces Polly to reconsider the choices she’s made, even as she tries to help her new friend through grief.

Unpredictable and unforgettable, this delightful novel will make you laugh, cry, and long for a lighthouse of your own.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062371249
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 03/22/2016
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 61,890
Product dimensions: 5.31(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.94(d)

About the Author

Jenny Colgan is the New York Times-bestselling author of numerous novels, including The Bookshop on the Corner, Little Beach Street Bakery, and Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery, all international bestsellers. Jenny is married with three children and lives in London and Scotland.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery: A Novel 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
the first one was better
gaele More than 1 year ago
I adore this series, it’s one of my favorites combining my endless fascination with all things Brit, compelling characters, a touch of drama, a dash of humor and a story that transports. Jenny Colgan writes with an openness that draws readers in to the place and situations. An island off the coast of Cornwall, busy in summer with tourists yet nearly deserted and quiet in the off season is home to people used to a harder life: fishing the ocean, dealing with the vagaries of tide and isolation, generations eeking out their survival. Into this mix is Polly, a mainlander and outsider, choosing the island of Mount Polbearne after a break up and near financial ruination forced her hand. Now settling in and finding her place, she’s discovering just who she is, and how different it is from that which she expected. The time she’s been on the island has been full of ups and downs: but with Huckle the honey farmer on her side, and Neil the Puffin enjoying his sidecar rides from their new lighthouse home to her small bakery on the main street – things couldn’t’ t be belter. Until they get worse… A fight over the costs at the bakery after the owner’s unexpected death forces some difficult decisions and a rash move for Polly, determined to hold on. Facing potential disaster and the chance of losing all she has worked so hard to build, and with Huckle back in America dealing with a situation caused by his brother, this is a tough time for Polly, undermining the hard won confidence and happiness. Back and forth the story goes, not unlike life, and you can’t help but want everything to work out for Polly. I love this story, rife with second and third chances, there for the taking should one only chance to reach for them. While it seemed that Polly often made choices in haste, the true beauty is in her willingness to try to do what will be best: and to be as open and friendly as possible. There are few moments where you don’t cheer for Polly, wish ill on those who seek to harm her business as you picture every moment, longing to be there. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best book I've read all summer!
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings The second in a series which I absolutely recommend starting at book 1, so if you haven't read book 1, you may want to pause here and go read before reading my review! We return to Polly who is in a groove in the bakery and loving managing them and creating breads and treats for this small town, but of course happiness can never last long in a book! She hits a roadblock when the owner of the bakeries passes away and her family wants to come in and make them more "efficient." Polly must roll with the tides of this small town living in a lighthouse.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great little summer read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Honolulubelle More than 1 year ago
Favorite Quotes: “Flora Larson, who worked in the old bakery, always had the look of someone expecting to be in trouble at any moment. She was thin and stooped, with a hangdog stance, and had a way of peeking up through an overlong fringe that simply looked guilty, even though there was a pretty face hiding in there somewhere.” “‘There is no point being bitter that there are wankers in the world,’ said Huckle. He sounded funny saying ‘wanker’ in his thick Southern accent. ‘If there weren’t any wankers, you wouldn’t know how to spot the nice people.’” “Everyone wants to call their boss a pig… Come on, if you can’t make a big fuss when you’re being sacked and storm out going ‘You’re a pig!’ you’re not really a human being.” “The sun was glinting on her hair, and he pulled her close and gently kissed the freckles on her nose, and realized, suddenly, that there was so much he wanted to say, but if he started, if he even tried to get the words out, then he would start to cry, and he wouldn’t get on the train, and they would be in an even worse situation than they were in already.” “She only locked it in the summer during the daytime, and that was only after she’d come home once to find a family of wide-eyed holidaymakers in her sitting room, with the father extemporizing, ‘… and then one day the lighthouse keepers simply vanished without a trace,’ at which she’d had to shoo them out, which had scared the children of the party, who thought she was the lighthouse ghost.” “If Polly was upset or cross about something, he would listen to her, hear her out, then suggest he make them Spanish omelettes and they could curl up on the sofa and watch something with zombies in it. Most problems, when it came down to it, could pretty much be cured, or at least helped, by curling up on the sofa with an omelette, watching something with zombies in it.” My Review: I adored this delightful and charming story and did not realize it was the second in a series, and although I had no trouble following the story as it had strong legs, I would love to go back and read the first book as well as anything this author has ever written, or will write in the future. Instant fan-girl here. Ms Colgan’s humor is sneaky and her characters are endearing, quirky, and beyond lovable. Polly and Huckle are completely and utterly adorable, but who could not love a woman who slaves away in a bakery while earning mere pennies, mainly for the love of feeding her friends; lives in a broken down lighthouse with a Puffin named Neil; and pays more for a cursed food van named Nancy than the seller was asking because she was worried about him? I found Polly and her cadre of friends to be a delicious and precious treat, although there was one hazard I should mention - I found I was often hungry while reading, and seemed to be yearning for large quantities of hot tea and toast.
Josie_Kerr More than 1 year ago
The first thing that I’ll say is that I absolutely loved Jenny Colgan’s SUMMER AT LITTLE BEACH STREET BAKERY. The story was sweet, funny, and a little bit sexy. Most of all, I really liked how the heroine, Polly, overcame her obstacles BY HERSELF. She didn’t need to be rescued, nor did she make huge, foolish mistakes – just a real woman, starting over. I also appreciated that Jenny Colgan hit the sweet spot of backstory. Since this is the second of a series, she filled the reader in just a bit about how Polly came to be where she was, but she didn’t go overboard and rehash the whole darn first book. (I hadn’t read the first, and it’s now definitely in my TBR pile because I *do* want to know all the fiddly details that the author enticed me with.) I did get a bit frustrated with the subplot of the beekeeper’s brother’s high jinks and and the general jackassery of the Bad Guy. I guess he struck me as *too* bad, (until he wasn’t). But that’s really the only quibbles I had. A lot of tension, some sweet moments, and a some comic relief made for a really nice read.
Twink More than 1 year ago
Jenny Colgan's newest book is Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery. Now, it's a follow-up to Little Beach Street Bakery, but you don't need to have read it to enjoy 'Summer'. (Although you might want to pick it up as well and tuck both into your summer reading beach bag) Polly Waterford has made a place for herself in the tiny Cornish town of Mount Polbearne - she's running a successful bakery (she doesn't own it yet, but...) has bought a home (yes an operating lighthouse!), has a fabulous boyfriend (Huckle, a transplanted American honeybee keeper) and a pet puffin named Neil. Life is good. Until.... .....a new owner takes over the bakery - and that changes everything.....Polly faces uncertainty again on every front.... Colgan has created a wonderful backdrop and setting for her characters. I love quaint little towns and quirky characters and Mount Polbearne is just that. (I think I'd be quite happy living there) Polly is a great lead character - she's someone you'd love to have as a friend. And it's impossible not to cheer her on. Huckle is great, but it's Neil the puffin who takes best supporting character. Without saying much more than Eep, he'll steal your heart. (He does have his own twitter account @neilthepuffin) I wasn't completely sold on friends Kerensa and Reuben - they were a bit over the top. But they play their designated roles perfectly. Colgan's description of the breads and baking had me salivating as I read. I've always dreamed of having my own business and enjoyed following Polly's start-ups. Summer at Little Beach Bakery has everything you want in a great chick-lit book - love, loss, drama, humour and yes - a just right ending. There are many more stories waiting to be told in Mount Polbearne - I hope Colgan has plans for another book set here. Jojo Moyes contributes a blurb to the cover - "Deliciously warm and sweet." I absolutely agree. Tuck Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery in your beach bag - it's perfect summer reading!