Summer Bones [LP]

Summer Bones [LP]

by Hit the Lights


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Summer Bones [LP]

Released in 2012, Invicta saw the Ohio-based emocore unit batten down the hatches and jettison whatever lo-fi skatepunk detritus was left from its early days in favor of a more pure, radio-driven pop feel. Summer Bones, the band's fourth studio long-player and first outing for Pure Noise Records, effectively seals the deal, offering up an 11-track set of slickly produced, earworm-heavy, festival-ready singalongs shot through with enough good old-fashioned punk/hardcore spirit to make the transition easy for old-schoolers looking for a respite from breakdown town. Similar in tone to bands like Sleeping with Sirens and the Story So Far, Hit the Lights have no interest in wallowing in the oft-excavated pit of youthful despair; rather, they exist in a sort of amped-up, devil-may-care vacuum of good-times/bad-times soul-searching that leans more heavily toward the former. Vocalist Nick Thompson's clear-and-concise croon bears only the tiniest touch of the traditional emo-whininess that can so often turn a decent song into a chore, and the band can tear things up, especially on the album's more anthemic numbers (actually, they're all pretty reliably fervent) like "Fucked Up Kids," "No Filter," "The Real," and the nostalgic title track, the latter of which flirts with Midwest Americana and provides the album with its most pop-centric moments. Even at their most sonically malevolent ("Keep Your Head," "Sitter"), Hit the Lights manage to find a sugary bridge or chorus, effectively exposing their brief moment of suffering as an anomaly in an otherwise perfect buzz of a warm Warped Tour summer afternoon, where the pit is as rowdy and cathartic as it is totally bloodless.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/24/2015
Label: Pure Noise
UPC: 0888608665322
catalogNumber: 162
Rank: 107236

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Hit the Lights   Primary Artist
Colin Ross   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Nathan VanDame   Drums
Kevin Mahoney   Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Omar Zehery   Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Nick Thompson   Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Kevin Ashba   Organ,Piano

Technical Credits

Mark Metzger   Artwork,Layout
Hit the Lights   Composer
Omar Zehery   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Kyle Black   Producer,Engineer
Josh Barber   Additional Production
Devon Corey   Engineer
Colin Schwanke   Additional Production

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews