Summer of the Woods: The Virginia Mysteries Book 1

Summer of the Woods: The Virginia Mysteries Book 1

by Steven K Smith


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, June 25


Magic Tree House meets Hardy Boys!

When ten-year-old Derek and eight-year-old Sam move with their family to Virginia, they have no idea what adventures the summer will bring. As the brothers explore their creaky old house and the deep surrounding woods, they uncover a sixty-year-old mystery of a valuable coin collection stolen from the local museum. Join the boys as they spend their summer running from danger and searching the woods, secret caves, rushing waters, and hidden passageways for treasure and the rare 1877 Indian Head cent coin! The Virginia Mysteries Book 1

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780989341417
Publisher: MyBoys3 Press
Publication date: 05/11/2013
Series: Virginia Mysteries , #1
Pages: 146
Sales rank: 97,183
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.50(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Steven K. Smith writes The Virginia Mysteries, a middle grade adventure series with a twist of history.

Steven lives in Richmond, Virginia, with his wife, three sons, and a golden retriever named Charlie. Born and raised in rural northwestern New Jersey, he moved to Virginia in 2011 and quickly fell in love with its history and charm. You can find him at, where he blogs about the adventures of raising three young boys.

When he's not writing, Steven works in e-healthcare and enjoys coaching his boys in sports, hiking and camping, photography, and taking naps. Some of his favorite children's books include Where the Red Fern Grows, Rascal, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, Bridge to Terabithia, and the Chronicles of Narnia series.

The Virginia Mysteries
Book 1 - Summer of the Woods
Book 2 - Mystery on Church Hill
Book 3 - Ghosts of Belle Isle (coming late 2014)

Pitch Black Dark - A short story

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Summer of the Woods: The Virginia Mysteries Book 1 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
This_Kid_Reviews_Books More than 1 year ago
Derek and Sam moved into a new house over the summer. While exploring the nearby woods, Sam finds a rare coin in a river, which they show to an elderly neighbor, who tells them a local legend about a guy who lived in their house who stole some other rare coins and hid them. After hearing the legend, the boys explore the forest for the stolen coins. Then, one night during a thunderstorm, Derek finds a map in their house. He thinks that it belonged to the coin thief. Derek and Sam decide to find the coins, no matter how dangerous it becomes! Summer of the Woods is a great book for young kids who want a fun adventure. The book is a completely clean read for young readers, but also a very good choice for older kids too because of the story. Derek and Sam are nice boys who have unique personalities and are very believable. You come to care for them as the story is told. I enjoyed Mr. Smith’s description of the adventure the boys go on, though I felt it could have gone into some more detail and had a bit more conversation between the two boys in some places rather than narration (but that’s just my opinion). The story is unique and there is the right amount of mystery in it to keep the reader interested and wanting to find out what happens next. I read on Mr. Smith’s Amazon author page that this is his first book and I am adding his name to my list of authors to look for. I hope to read more of his books in the future. *NOTE I got a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.