The Summer Queen: A Novel of Eleanor of Aquitaine

The Summer Queen: A Novel of Eleanor of Aquitaine

by Elizabeth Chadwick
4.9 20

Paperback

$15.22 $17.99 Save 15% Current price is $15.22, Original price is $17.99. You Save 15%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, July 25 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Summer Queen: A Novel of Eleanor of Aquitaine by Elizabeth Chadwick

"A magnificent woman's story told by a brilliant historical novelist; realistic, emotional, vibrant, exciting and unputdownable."—RT Book Reviews, July Top Pick

Scandal, politics, sex, triumphs, and tragedies abound in The Summer Queen, the first novel in a stunning new trilogy, perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Sharon Kay Penman

At the age of thirteen, Eleanor of Aquitaine is forced to leave everything behind, marry a man she doesn't love, and take the throne to reign as Queen of France. Eleanor's new life is full of risk—and unlimited opportunity. Barely out of childhood and faced with great scandals, fraught relationships, and forbidden love at every turn, Eleanor must use all her cunning to secure her future as one of the most powerful women in the world.

The Eleanor of Aquitaine Trilogy:
The Summer Queen (Book 1)
The Winter Crown (Book 2)
The Autumn Throne (Book 3)

Praise for The Summer Queen:
"The Summer Queen is a fabulous novel based on the most up-to-date and meticulous research. This is historical fiction at its best and I loved every page of it."—For Winter Nights: A bookish blog

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781402294068
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication date: 07/01/2014
Series: Eleanor of Aquitaine Series , #1
Pages: 512
Sales rank: 106,345
Product dimensions: 5.32(w) x 7.92(h) x 1.34(d)

About the Author

"A star back in Britain, Elizabeth Chadwick is finally getting the attention she deserves here,"-USA Today. Chadwick is the bestselling author of over 20 historical novels, including The Greatest Knight, The Scarlet Lion, A Place Beyond Courage, Lords of the White Castle, Shadows and Strongholds, The Winter Mantle, and The Falcons of Montabard, four of which have been shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists' Awards.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Summer Queen: A Novel of Eleanor of Aquitaine 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Mirella More than 1 year ago
Elizabeth Chadwick has once again put forth a wonderfully authentic recreation of the life of a famous historical figure. In this case, it is the life of Eleanor of Aquitaine, or Alienor, as she was officially referred to. The Summer Queen is the first in a trilogy and covers Alienor’s life from childhood until she meets Henry who will become her second husband. And the author does it with grand details, breaking down this famous woman’s life into small increments to truly make her real! One cannot help but be spellbound with each page as we follow Alienor through an unhappy marriage with a spineless, overly religiously devout king as he drags her into peril into a crusade. Awesome characterization, a fascinating plot, and in depth research makes this story stand above all others about Eleanor of Aquitaine. Definitely a book to read and savor! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't normally read history novels, but after this bookI am now a fan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The personality of Eleanor comes thru loud and clear. Altho I HAVE READ MANY BOOKS ABOUT THIS STRIKING woman,E.C. brings new insight into her amazing life and into the times into which she was born. The characters of her husbands are also brought to life as never before.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. Great historical references to history swathed in clouds of male ego
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the part where Louis brought Eleanor's gyrfalcon back to her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was great. Loved it. However her second book in the seires "The Winter Queen" was nothing more than an exact copy of the first book The Summer Queen" but didn't cover Eleanor's childhood years or her ultimate imprisonment by Henry as the first book did. I returned it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MsDollie More than 1 year ago
As with all of her historic novels, I thoroughly enjoyed reading The Summer Queen. I just wish she could write the next as quickly as I read. Well .... if she did ... they probably wouldn't be as good as they are! Now what do I read while I wait on the next Alienor novel?
Babs_luvs_books More than 1 year ago
Every one of Elizabeth Chadwick's books are excellent reads.  Enjoyed this first one in her Eleanor of Aquitaine series, and can't wait to read the rest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Avidel More than 1 year ago
This is a great book. I love Elizabeth Chadwick's books. She is the new Anya Seton. Eleanor is one of the strongest woman in history. I highly recommend it..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cannot wait to read the next one!