Sunshine is Forever

Sunshine is Forever

by Kyle T Cowan

Paperback

$11.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, November 19

Overview

After a life-changing event, Hunter decides that he can't go on...

...which lands him in Camp Sunshine, a rehab center for depressed teens. Hunter is determined to keep everyone there out of his head, especially his therapist. But when he meets Corin, a beautiful, mysterious, and confident fellow camper, all Hunter wants to do is open up to her—despite the fact that he's been warned Corin is bad news.

When Corin devises a plan for them to break out of the camp, Hunter is faced with the ultimate choice—will he run from the traumatic incident he's tried so hard to escape, or will he learn that his mistakes have landed him right where he's meant to be?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781942645627
Publisher: Inkshares
Publication date: 08/29/2017
Pages: 251
Sales rank: 1,159,105
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.80(d)
Age Range: 15 - 17 Years

About the Author

Kyle T. Cowan is an actor whose first big-screen appearance was in Odd Thomas . Most recently, he appeared in Better Call Saul , Preacher , War on Everyone , and MANH(A)TTAN . He is also recognized for writing, directing, producing, editing, and starring in the indie feature film Camouflage . Cowan holds a fine arts degree in writing and directing from the University of Colorado Denver. He now resides in Los Angeles, California, and Albuquerque, New Mexico. Sunshine is Forever is his first published novel. To stay in touch with the author, follow @KyleTCowan on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sunshine is Forever 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Lauren817 More than 1 year ago
Sunshine Is Forever was pitched to me as "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest meets Moonrise Kingdom for Today's Teens," and as someone who is a fan of One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, I was intrigued. However, I had to admit: I was still somewhat hesitant about diving into this. I wasn't sure if I was going to love it or not. As it turns out, I absolutely loved Sunshine Is Forever - it's actually become one of my favorites of 2017! From the first page I was sucked into Hunter's story. When we're introduced to Hunter we are made well aware of the fact that he's done something horribly bad, something so horrible in fact that his mother refuses to look at him. I was intrigued by this. Sure, at first glance, Hunter had his flaws and problems. He was rash and bold, occasionally putting his own pride before others's feelings, but I still liked him. I felt his pain, his suffering, and deep down, his desire to find a cure to his depression. So while I kept bracing myself for the worst of the worst, I was also hoping that it wouldn't change my opinion of him too much. I was rooting for him - for him to make peace with his past to forge new friendships to find his home again. Besides Hunter, we're introduced to a whole array of other characters at Camp Sunshine. From the camp counselors to the campers to the camp's owner/resident psychiatrist, each and everyone introduced something special to this book. My favorite, however, was seeing the friendships that developed between Hunter and the other boys at camp. They couldn't have been more different - polar opposites in fact - but over the course of the summer, they come together, making alliances as well as enemies, laughs as well as bad decisions. The friendship between Hunter and Qunit was my particular favorite. I thought Kyle did just a fanatic job of making their bond realistic. The plot in this mainly focuses on Hunter's time at Camp Sunshine. Kyle T. Cowan did a great job of developing this camp - I could easily picture it! I enjoyed seeing the different types of activities the counselors had the campers do as well as the alliances that formed throughout. As hinted to above, there was also an air of mystery to the book as well regarding not only what Hunter did but also regarding Corin, the girl Hunter falls in love with from afar. Both mysteries had me hooked to the pages even more than I already was, especially towards the end! Lastly, I have to comment on how much I liked the way in which the story was told. Kyle T. Cowan does a journalism type approach, I guess you would say. Hunter basically talks to us the entire time, recounting his summer- it's very casual yet incredibly addictive! Reading one more chapter often turned into reading three more chapters and so on... Perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Sara Zarr, & John Green, Sunshine Is Forever tackles tough subjects with poise, realism, and a whole lot of heart. Basically, add this book to your TBR pile. It's well worth a read! Grade: A
xokristim More than 1 year ago
I liked that the main character was the one telling the reader the story, it made it seem more authentic. I found the description of depression given was pretty accurate. He really hides his feelings with humor, which is common in many people. I did get super annoyed at the fact that he thought his problems had to be the biggest and worst problems of all. He seemed to dismiss other people’s experiences which was frustrating. I thought that Hunter’s obsessive love for Corin at first sight (instalove alert) was cute at times, but extremely frustrating most of the time. I liked how there was a big air of mystery surrounding Corin and how she’s been to Camp Sunshine multiple times. I couldn’t stand most of the councilors, which I think will be popular, since that’s how the author made them out to be. Overall I liked the story, I thought it was very representative of a place where adolescents with depression and other mental illnesses would go. I thought the character were written exactly how they were meant to be portrayed. I thought the author did a great job of making this book believable.