Super Sonic Jazz/Fate in a Pleasant Mood

Super Sonic Jazz/Fate in a Pleasant Mood

by Sun Ra

CD(Bonus Tracks / 180 Gram Vinyl)

$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, September 27  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Super Sonic Jazz/Fate in a Pleasant Mood

Along with his Arkestra, astral traveler and free jazz cornerstone artist Sun Ra amassed an unthinkably dense discography that chronicled their explorations in sound that grew away from the big-band sound of their beginnings into increasingly more experimental and spectral fare as the years went on. This collection pairs the 1956 recording (and the first album to be released on Ra's own Saturn label) Super Sonic Jazz with Fate in a Pleasant Mood, a session put to tape in the summer of 1960. Super Sonic Jazz is a pleasantly murky foray into exotic percussion and the Arkestra's sizzling yet spacy big-band sound, while Fate in a Pleasant Mood finds a dwindling personnel list and a more spacious sound as the band prepared to leave Chicago for a new home (and adventures into new sonic territory) in New York.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/13/2012
Label: Ais
UPC: 8436542012225
catalogNumber: 4201222
Rank: 109875


  1. India
  2. Sunology
  3. Advice To Medics
  4. Super Blonde
  5. Soft Talk
  6. Sunology, Pt. 2
  7. Kingdom of Not
  8. Portrait of the Living Sky
  9. Blues At Midnight
  10. El is a Sound of Joy
  11. Springtime In Chicago
  12. Medicine For a Nightmare
  13. Medicine For a Nightmare
  14. The Others In Their World
  15. Space Mates
  16. Lights of a Satellite
  17. Distant Stars
  18. Kingdom of Thunder
  19. Fate In a Pleasant Mood
  20. Ankhnaton

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sun Ra   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews