by Down to the Bone


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.



No bones about it, the latest offering from the popular British funk ensemble Down to the Bone, reveals the inner workings of its creator Stuart Wade's collaborative efforts with Paul "Shilts" Weimar, the D.C. Horns, vibist Roy Ayers, vocalists Hill St. Soul and Corrina Greyson, and a dynamic rhythm section to perfection. Supercharged features 11 new songs that sizzle with energy, soul and a hard-edged funky groove. Hill St. Soul's delivery is so sincere on "Smile to Shine" that you know she's singing rote and not from sheet music. With dynamic vocals from Corrina Greyson elevating "Shake It Up" to a thrilling showstopper, this song is sure to get you out of your seat. The signature vibes are from Roy Ayers, one of the definitive modern jazz vibraphonists on the scene today. Ayers is at the top of his game on "Electric Vibes." Shilts increases the hard-edged horn funk throughout his soloing that has amazing power, range and creativity, while the rhythm section provides the perfect atmosphere for the set. The D.C. Horns are reminiscent of the funk and groove heard in a lot of Maceo Parker's bands but their musical prowess is more reminiscent of Tower of Power. All of Stuart Wade's arrangements are well conceived and offer both the group and soloists great songs that have melodic virility and room to stretch. If you're bored with the mass- produced sound of some of the contemporary jazz on the scene today, give a listen to Supercharged. The music goes right down to the bone!

Product Details

Release Date: 06/19/2007
Label: Narada
UPC: 0094636512327
catalogNumber: 65123

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Down to the Bone   Primary Artist
Roy Ayers   Vocals,Vibes
Julian Crampton   Bass,Bass Guitar
Tony Remy   Guitar
Neil Cowley   Synthesizer,Piano,Hammond Organ,Claves,fender rhodes
Neil Angilley   Synthesizer,Piano,Hammond Organ,Claves,fender rhodes
Richard Sadler   Percussion,Double Bass
Hil St. Soul   Vocals
Shilts   Flute,Saxophone
Ian Crabtree   Guitar
Bob Dowell   Trombone
Corrina Greyson   Vocals
Pete Grogan   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone
Dob Dowel   Trombone
Adam Riley   Conga
D.C. Horns   Horn
Pete Grogan   Alto
Jon Radord   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Ron Moss   Management
Richard Sadler   Programming,Engineer
Stuart Wade   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer,Liner Notes,Horn Arrangements,Audio Production
Caroline Coade   Composer
Hilary Mwelwa   Composer
Amanda Wray   Art Direction
Richard Salder   Programming

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews