Surf Beat: Rock 'n' Roll's Forgotten Revolution

Surf Beat: Rock 'n' Roll's Forgotten Revolution

by Kent Crowley


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, December 6


(Guitar Reference). Surf Beat is the first book to tell the story of the birth of surf music, and its persistent survival and reinvention in the face of decades of dismissal as a mere cultural aberration. Conventional wisdom posits that rock 'n' roll languished in the period between 1959 and 1963. Yet in that four-year stretch between Elvis joining the army and Buddy Holly's death, and the emergence of the Beatles, a musical revolution took place in Southern California that would influence all electric guitar forms that followed it. They called it surf music, and in Surf Beat , the genre finally gets its day in the sun. Surf music authority and author Kent Crowley uncovers the story of the initial emergence of surf music as first a local, then a national and international phenomenon, and its subsequent waves of popularity through the ensuing decades.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781617130076
Publisher: Backbeat
Publication date: 06/01/2011
Series: Guitar Reference Series
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 1,134,147
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.90(d)

Table of Contents

Introduction: The Day The Music Didn't Die 4

Glossary of Essential Terms 7

Prologue: The Surf Also Rises: Commencing the Last Wave 8

Summer Story 1 The South Swell 1957-1962

Chapter 1 Secret Surfin' Spot 14

Chapter 2 Rebel Rouser 28

Chapter 3 Let's Go Trippin' 43

Chapter 4 Mr Moto 53

Chapter 5 Stoked 65

Summer Story 2 The West Swell 1962-1964

Chapter 6 Moment Of Truth 81

Chapter 7 Miseriou 94

Chapter 8 Dead Man's Curve 109

Chapter 9 Penetration 145

Summer Story 3 The North Swell 1964-1972

Chapter 10 A New Shade of Blue 158

Chapter 11 Third Stone From The Sun 171

Chapter 12 The Endless Summer 189

Summer Story 4 The Great Swell 1971-1999

Chapter 13 Don't Let Your Goodbye Stand 203

Chapter 14 Rumble At Waikiki 212

Chapter 15 Surfers Rule 224

Summer Story 5 Big Wednesday 1999-2007

Epilogue 233

Endnotes 239

Recommended Listening 241

Sources 244

Index 247

Acknowledgements 255

Customer Reviews