Pub. Date:
Survival I: Slaughter At Ghastar

Survival I: Slaughter At Ghastar

by Ian Thompson

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Slaughter At Ghastar is the first in an all-new spin-off series of novellas set in the apocalyptic Era Of Darkness.

Hordes of demonic warriors swarm from beyond the great Wall of Light. They crush opposing armies. They eradicate towns and villages. They have already slaughtered the Unseen Gods... This is an invasion like no other. Their purpose is not to expand their territory, to instil their doctrines on other people or to plunder the riches of their prey, but simply to destroy every living thing.

At dawn, the demon forces reach the peaceful Human village of Ghastar – and an atrocious massacre ensues...

Amid the fleeing villagers are four friends. Nidel is a strong but fearful nineteen-year-old man, who is desperate to protect his younger sister Dansel. Tanner and Lul are brothers and traders; Tanner is fifty and a stout boastful liar; Lul is half his age, very intelligent but quiet-natured. A fourteen-year-old girl named Vina joins the group and they reach the outskirts of Ghastar…

Here the refugees meet Tygis, an old hermit believed to be an addled fool. They retreat into his small cabin – and discover there is more to the hermit that anyone could have ever believed.

Yet soon the cabin is surrounded and under siege by demons. Makeshift barricades won’t last long under the mammoth onslaught. The six villagers will have to fight for their lives against the overwhelming invaders…

Can anyone survive?

Whereas Era Of Darkness tells the story of the demonic invasion on a huge scale, Survival depicts it from the perspective of a small group of refugees – not great warriors or leaders of nations, but ordinary people caught up in a catastrophe. Homeless and terrified, they are already victims of war. To make it through to the end of one terrible day, each character will need to summon up more courage than they ever knew they possessed.

From 5-Star Reviews for Era Of Darkness - Volume I:
“...intense battles, incredible dark magic... so many twists and turns... I loved it”
“I was completely sucked in and captivated from the first page”
“...mixture of fantasy, mystery, loyalty that make it a one of a kind story”
“Wonderful characters and an even better story”
“Fast and furious paced action fantasy... Great characters... Battles are huge and bloodthirsty”
“I was impressed by the quality of the storytelling... an enthralling mix... a solid read”

Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940152081251
Publisher: Ian Thompson
Publication date: 08/06/2015
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 901 KB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Ian Thompson is the author of fast-paced, action-packed, unpredictable novels and short stories. His writing style focuses upon vivid characterization, thrilling situations and twisted plots. As a cross-genre author, he has written mystery thrillers, fantasy epics, horror chillers and science fiction.

Ian loves to be entertained by stories that set his mind racing (whether in books, movies, TV shows, comics or video games) - well-written, exciting adventures with great characters, plenty of conflict and intrigue, and twists he wasn't expecting. Being taken away into the realm of someone's imagination has always appealed to him and drove him to create realms of his own.

The author’s works include: the Ray Hammett Thriller series (beginning with Paradise Exhumed); two action-packed fantasy saga series – Era Of Darkness and Hector Reborn; the chilling horror novel God Of War; his quick-read Short Horror Tales; and a zombie apocalypse series The Earth Bleeds.

Visit his website for more information. Sign up for his Newsletter there to receive all the latest news on upcoming releases – plus four free books!

Customer Reviews