B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4

Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4

by Teri Kanefield


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, July 5


In the fourth installment in the Making of America series, Susan B. Anthony, Teri Kanefield examines the life of America’s famous suffragette. Anthony was born into a world in which men ruled women: A man could beat his wife, take her earnings, have her committed into an asylum based on his word, and take her children away from her. While the young nation was ablaze with the radical notion that people could govern themselves, “people” were understood to be white and male. Women were expected to stay out of public life and debates. As Anthony saw the situation, “Women’s subsistence is in the hands of men, and most arbitrarily and unjustly does he exercise his consequent power.” She began her public career as a radical abolitionist, and after the Civil War, she became an international figurehead of the women’s suffrage movement. The book includes selections of Anthony’s writing, endnotes, a bibliography, and an index.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781419734014
Publisher: ABRAMS
Publication date: 03/26/2019
Series: The Making of America , #4
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 542,710
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.10(d)
Age Range: 10 - 14 Years

About the Author

Teri Kanefield is a lawyer and the author of The Girl from the Tar Paper School, The Extraordinary Suzy Wright, The Making of America series, and more. She lives in San Luis Obispo, California.

Table of Contents

Prologue: "The Times That Try Women's Souls" 1

1 A Quaker Girlhood 5

2 The Financial Crisis 20

3 An Unconventional Young Woman 32

4 All the Good You Can 45

5 A Nation in Need of Reform 57

6 Cavil War 77

7 Emancipation 90

8 We the People 109

9 Betrayal 126

10 Let the World Wag 148

11 A New Generation 168

12 Afterward 191

13 Legacy 193

Notes 200

Time Line 216

Selected Writings of Susan B. Anthony 219

Bibliography 224

Acknowledgments 229

Index 230

Customer Reviews