Buy One, Get One 50% Off Our Monthly Picks!
Shop Now
Swallows and Amazons

Swallows and Amazons

by Arthur Ransome


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 26


The first title in Arthur Ransome's classic series, Swallows and Amazons was originally published in 1930 and remains to this day an intrepid story of sailing, exploration, and friendship for children, grownups, and anyone captivated by a world of adventure and imagination. Set in England’s Lake District in 1929, the story follows the Walker family—including siblings John, Susan, Titty, and Roger—who set sail for Wild Cat Island in their dinghy. Upon arriving, the friends are besieged by Amazon pirates, Nancy and Peggy, who claim ownership of the land. Luckily, the Swallows and Amazons soon call a truce and set off together on wild escapades, camping under open skies, swimming, fishing, and exploring. But when a mysterious man on a houseboat accuses them of a crime they did not commit, the Swallows and the Amazons must work together to clear their names—and find the real culprit. Drawing on the good old-fashioned storytelling of Robinson Crusoe and showcasing the qualities of independence and initiative in his characters, Arthur Ransome has written a timeless adventure story that still resonates with children today, nearly ninety years after its original publication. This deluxe hardcover edition of this charming tale will find a treasured spot in many home libraries as well as transport children to a real-life Neverland, a fantastical place where they can roam freely without an adult in sight.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781468316865
Publisher: The Overlook Press
Publication date: 02/12/2019
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 572,983
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 7.70(h) x 1.40(d)
Age Range: 8 - 18 Years

About the Author

Arthur Ransome (1884-1967) was the author of more than thirty books for children. Born in Leeds in 1884, he enjoyed active, outdoor holidays, many of which became the settings for his children’s stories. Swallows and Amazons, the first of the series of the same name, is regarded as a timeless classic of children’s literature.

Table of Contents

I The Peak in Darien 15

II Making Ready 25

III The Voyage to the Island 35

IV The Hidden Harbour 47

V First Night on the Island 58

VI Island Life 68

VII More Island Life 81

VIII Skull and Crossbones 91

IX The Arrow with the Green Feather 104

X The Parley 113

XI In Alliance 123

XII Leading Lights 136

XIII The Charcoal-Burners 143

XIV The Letter from Captain Flint 157

XV Captain John Visits Captain Flint 168

XVI The Birthday Party 178

XVII A Fair Wind 188

XVIII Robinson Crusoe and Man Friday 199

XIX The Amazon River 209

XX Titty Alone 219

XXI Swallows in the Dark 231

XXII The White Flag 246

XXIII Taking Breath 259

XXIV Grave News from Houseboat Bay 273

XXV Captain Flint Gets. The Black Spot 285

XXVI He Makes Peace and Declares War 289

XXVII The Battle in Houseboat Bay 305

XXVIII The Treasure on Cormorant Island 323

XXIX Two Sorts of Fish 334

XXX The Storm 348

XXXI The Sailors' Return 360

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

"A most enjoyable tale… A book for almost any age."—New York Times Book Review

"A master storyteller, sympathetically in touch with real children and their interests, has created plots which are eminently plausible and unexpected."—Sunday Times, in an article listing Swallows & Amazons among the "99 Best Books for Children"

"A ‘white-knuckle-ride action adventure' that could capture the imagination of the Harry Potter generation."—The Guardian

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items