Swamp People

Swamp People


$14.20 $15.99 Save 11% Current price is $14.2, Original price is $15.99. You Save 11%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 20


Aired on the History channel, Swamp People is a reality show that chronicles the lives of a bunch of Cajun alligator hunters in the Louisiana bayou. Fittingly, the soundtrack to the show -- released in 2013, after the fourth season was underway -- contains Jerry Reed's "Amos Moses," a song all about a Louisiana alligator hunter, and the rest of the 13-track collection offers a heavy dose of bayou mythology all delivered through the prism of swamp rock, New Orleans funk, Zydeco rave-ups, and Cajun stomps pretty heavily. It jumps through eras, reaching back to the '50s for Hank Williams' immortal "Jambalaya (On the Bayou)" and Bobby Charles' swinging "See You Later, Alligator," spending time in the '60s with Reed and Tony Joe White's "Polk Salad Annie," the Neville Brothers represented by their 1981 classic "Fire on the Bayou," and the rest comprised of relatively latter-day recordings of heavy hitters like Buckwheat Zydeco, Beausoleil, Chris Ardoin, Zachary Richard, and D.L. Menard. Apart from Steel Bill's credit anthem "Swamp People," which suits the show but doesn't quite stand apart from it, everything here is terrific and represents some aspect of the rich musical bounty in the Louisiana swamp, which makes this a better than average TV soundtrack.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/21/2013
Label: Rounder / Umgd
UPC: 0011661917224
catalogNumber: 619172
Rank: 93366

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Scott Billington   Harmonica
Doug Belote   Drums
Jimmy Messa   Bass
Johnette Downing   Background Vocals
Steel Bill   Vocals

Technical Credits

Zachary Richard   Composer
Tony Joe White   Composer
Jumpin' Johnny Sansone   Composer
Scott Billington   Producer
David Farrell   Engineer
D.L. Menard   Composer
Ziggy Modeliste   Composer
Cyril Neville   Composer
Leo Nocentelli   Composer
George Porter   Composer
Hank Williams   Composer
Chris Ardoin   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Arthur Neville   Composer
Jerry R. Hubbard   Composer
Stanley Dural   Composer
Robert C. Guidry   Composer
Billy Joe Tharpe   Composer
Pete Elkins   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews