Sweet Memories

Sweet Memories

by David W. Menefee


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, August 10


While making sweet memories in a world of make-believe, Mary Pickford discovers that love appears brightest when she least expects. Pulitzer-nominated author David W. Menefee's new fiction novel presents a memoir by Charlotte Pickford, Mary's mother, who vividly reveals their ambitions, triumphs, and tears. Thrill to the dazzling all-star cast of characters in the enduring story of an indomitable girl's vision of victory, and her mother's untiring endeavors to achieve those dreams no matter what the cost.

Before Mary Pickford became famous as a silent movie star, she was Gladys Smith, a little girl from Toronto, who earned her family's bread and butter by portraying children long after her own childhood passed. Sweet Memories fades in on Mary after ten years of touring the back roads of Broadway, when the sixteen-year-old, lovely as a spring rose, faces the greatest challenge of her life. Caught on a merry-go-round making movies, worldwide adulation elevates her onto an unsteady pedestal as The Biograph Girl, where labor and love mix like oil and water. During the tempest of adoration, only Charlotte stands by her side, and only Owen abides in her heart. Together, they join a band of independent filmmakers in Cuba, but none of them suspect that they have unwittingly set sail on an explosive adventure that will take a lifetime to forget.

David W. Menefee is the Pulitzer nominated author of WALLY: THE TRUE WALLACE REID STORY (Foreword by Robert Osborne), and THE RISE AND FALL OF LOU-TELLEGEN, both of which were named among the Best Silent Film Books of 2011 by Thomas Gladysz in the San Francisco Examiner's annual ranking. David's other popular works include the monumental SARAH BERNHARDT, HER FILMS, HER RECORDINGS (Foreword by Kevin Brownlow), RICHARD BARTHELMESS: A LIFE IN PICTURES (named one of the Top Film Books of 2009), THE REMARKABLE MR. MESSING, BROTHERS OF THE STORM, and the popular MARGOT CRANSTON detective series.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781469966953
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 02/25/2012
Pages: 238
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

Pulitzer nominated author David W. Menefee is an American author, ghost writer, screenwriter, book editor, and film historian. His writing career began as a writer and marketing representative for the Dallas Times Herald and the Dallas Morning News. In 2004, David struck out on his own as a freelance writer.

In 2009, the esteemed film historian's RICHARD BARTHELMESS: A LIFE IN PICTURES was named one of the Top 10 Film Books of the Year. In 2010, GEORGE O'BRIEN: A MAN'S MAN IN HOLLYWOOD and "OTAY! THE BILLY "BUCKWHEAT" THOMAS STORY were popular hits. In 2011 his WALLY: THE TRUE WALLACE REID STORY (Foreword by Robert Osborne) was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize and was named one of the Top 10 Books of the Year by the San Francisco Examiner along with his THE RISE AND FALL OF LOU-TELLEGEN.

David's other literary works include THE REMARKABLE MR. MESSING (soon to be a motion picture), the unforgettable Black American history novel BROTHERS OF THE STORM, the paranormal love story CHARLIE O'DOONE'S SECOND CHANCE, the spine-tingling MARGOT CRANSTON detective series, the unusual FALLING STARS: 10 WHO TRIED TO BE A MOVIE STAR, and the monumental SARAH BERNHARDT, HER FILMS, HER RECORDINGS (Foreword by Kevin Brownlow).

David lives in Dallas, Texas, USA.

Customer Reviews