Sweet Soul Music: 1975

Sweet Soul Music: 1975


$20.85 $22.99 Save 9% Current price is $20.85, Original price is $22.99. You Save 9%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25


The final volume of Bear Family's Sweet Soul Music covers 1975 and it could easily be subtitled "the triumph of disco." Opening with Labelle's "Lady Marmalade," a high-octane disco revision of the Meters' New Orleans funk, the disc covers all kinds of soul acts going disco, whether it's the Miracles boogying with their "Love Machine" or Ben E. King singing "Supernatural Thing." No matter how fiery it is, the Isley Brothers' "Fight the Power" also reflects like a glitter ball, as does Natalie Cole's "This Will Be (An Everlasting Love)" and Ohio Players' "Love Rollercoaster"; by sticking to his tight, sexy Hi groove, Al Green starts to seem a little out of date, as does Tyrone Davis. Although there are some other older stars here who ride with the times (the O'Jays, for instance) and the Blackbyrds conjure the smooth soul harmonies of Philly, they amount to echoes from another era that get overshadowed by the debut of the Trammps ("Hold Back the Night"), the Sylvers ("Boogie Fever"), Tavares ("It Only Takes a Minute), and Van McCoy ("The Hustle"), all acts that capture the zeitgeist of 1975. Emphasizing this shift from funk and smooth soul to disco is why this is such a satisfying and necessary conclusion to Bear Family's exceptional Sweet Soul Music series. Disco is thriving but soul hasn't disappeared completely, it still occupied a big portion of the charts but in the late '70s and '80s, soul either moved to the Southern circuits or became quiet storm, two niches that found their own dedicated audience. Here, those sounds are in their nascent stages, sharing space with the last remnants of deep soul and the full flower of disco, and the results are an effectively wonderful coda to the golden age of soul.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/25/2014
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 5397102168857
catalogNumber: 2425178
Rank: 77569

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Philip Bailey   Composer
Green   Composer
Gwen Guthrie   Composer
Chuck Jackson   Composer
Maurice White   Composer
Steve Alaimo   Composer
Van McCoy   Composer
Willie Mitchell   Composer
June Pointer   Composer
Chris Jasper   Composer
Bob Crewe   Composer
Kenny Nolan   Composer
Anita Pointer   Composer
Tom Jans   Composer
Jackie Avery   Composer
Billy Beck   Composer
Leroy "Sugarfoot" Bonner   Composer
Chaka Khan   Composer
Larry Dunn   Composer
Bobby Eli   Composer
Allan Felder   Composer
Kenny Gamble   Composer
Leo Graham   Composer
Norman Harris   Composer
Mabon "Teenie" Hodges   Composer
Leon Huff   Composer
Ronald Isley   Composer
Marshall "Rock" Jones   Composer
Dennis Lambert   Composer
Benny Latimore   Composer
Tony Maiden   Composer
Mervin Pierce   Composer
Warren "Pete" Moore   Composer
Walter Orange   Composer
Freddie Perren   Composer
Barney Perry   Composer
Ruth Pointer   Composer
Brian Potter   Composer
David Rubinson   Composer
James "Diamond" Williams   Composer
Marvin Yancy   Composer
Earl Young   Composer
Bill Dahl   Liner Notes
Thomas McClary   Composer
Clarence Reid   Composer
Clarence "Satch" Satchell   Composer
Ron Baker   Composer
Dave Booth   Reissue Producer,Tape Research
William Griffin   Composer
Vinnie Barrett   Composer
Willie Clarke   Composer
Keni St. Lewis   Composer
Andreas Merck   Photo Scanning
Pat Grant   Composer
Ralph Middlebrooks   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews