Sweet Soul Music: 23 Scorching Classics From 1974

Sweet Soul Music: 23 Scorching Classics From 1974


$20.85 $22.99 Save 9% Current price is $20.85, Original price is $22.99. You Save 9%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, June 26


Disco began to rise in 1974, which is evident from the start of Bear Family's 1974 volume of Sweet Soul Music. Opening with Eddie Kendricks' "Boogie Down," the 23-track collection never shies away from disco, never suggests soul is only something down and dirty, which means it accurately reflects how the music was evolving in the mid-'70s. Certainly, there is still a lot of romantic harmony soul coming out of Philadelphia -- the Stylistics' "You Make Me Feel Brand New," the Three Degrees' "When Will I See You Again?" -- and the compilers don't shy away from soul-blues hits such as Bobby Bland's "I Wouldn't Treat a Dog (The Way You Treated Me)" and Latimore's "Let's Straighten It Out," and they find room for the monumental funk of James Brown's "The Payback, Vol. 1," but this disc emphasizes how slick, bright, and danceable soul became in 1974. The Jackson 5's "Dancing Machine," the Tymes' "You Little Trustmaker," George McCrae's "Rock Your Baby," the Hues Corporation's "Rock the Boat," and B.T. Express' "Do It (Til You're Satisfied)" all epitomize the shifting tides and help make this volume of Sweet Soul Music very sweet indeed.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/25/2014
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 5397102168840
catalogNumber: 2425177
Rank: 60707

Album Credits

Technical Credits

James Brown   Composer
Maurice White   Composer
Daddy Cool   Reissue Producer
Mac Gayden   Composer
Barrett Strong   Composer
William DeVaughn   Composer
Buzz Cason   Composer
James Banks   Composer
Steve Barri   Composer
Thom Bell   Composer
Johnny Bristol   Composer
Harry Wayne "K.C." Casey   Composer
Leonard Caston   Composer
Chaka Khan   Composer
Linda Creed   Composer
Hal Davis   Composer
Bobby Eli   Composer
Richard Finch   Composer
Kenny Gamble   Composer
Wally Holmes   Composer
Leon Huff   Composer
Benny Latimore   Composer
Robert "Spike" Mickens   Composer
Billy Nichols   Composer
Michael Omartian   Composer
Ray Parker   Composer
John Starks   Composer
Don Walsh   Composer
Fred Wesley   Composer
Verdine White   Composer
Norman Whitfield   Composer
Eddie Marion   Composer
Bill Dahl   Liner Notes,Source Material
Phillip Mitchell   Composer
Robert Pruter   Source Material
Rob Bowman   Source Material
Adam White   Source Material
Frank Wilson   Composer
Joel Whitburn   Source Material
Fred Bronson   Source Material
Dave Booth   Tape Research
Vinnie Barrett   Composer
Anita Poree   Composer
Zelda Samuels   Composer
Henderson Thigpen   Composer
Andreas Merck   Photo Scanning
Jim Payne   Source Material
John A. Jackson   Source Material
Westfield   Composer
J.W. Alexander   Composer
Middlebrooks   Composer
Donald Fletcher   Composer
Bob McGrath   Source Material
Michael Price   Composer
Weldon Parks   Composer
Christopher Mark Jackson   Composer
Merten Kaatz   Illustrations

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews