Sweet Talk

Sweet Talk

by Eric Marienthal


$16.21 $18.99 Save 15% Current price is $16.21, Original price is $18.99. You Save 15%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, September 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Sweet Talk

For his tenth solo recording, California-based saxophonist Eric Marienthal joins forces with Grammy-winning New York producer Jason Miles and a group of studio all-stars -- including guitarists Chuck Loeb and Romero Lubambo; keyboardists Dave Kochanski and Jeff Lorber; bassists Will Lee and Tom Barney; and drummers Chris Parker and Gene Lake -- for a varied and consonant recital in smooth jazz. A accomplished multi-sax-and-woodwind player who studied with the great bebop saxophonist Warne Marsh in high school, Marienthal plays soprano and alto saxophones here. He projects the sound -- tart, inviting, rooted in the soulful verities of Hank Crawford and Cannonball Adderley -- that has made him a mainstay of Chick Corea’s Elektric Band, the Rippingtons, and countless projects by various distinguished members of his smooth-jazz peer group. The program spans Brazil (Ivan Lins singing the lyric to his composition “Caprichiosa”), R&B/pop (Stevie Wonder’s “Tell Me Something Good”, sung by Marienthal’s labelmate Cassandra Reed), and a slew of solid melodies in fast, medium, and slow grooves by Marienthal, Loeb, Kochanski, and Lorber that embrace the listener and don’t let go.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/23/2003
Label: Peak Records
UPC: 0013431851028
catalogNumber: 8510
Rank: 115797

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eric Marienthal   Primary Artist,Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Ivan Lins   Vocals
Jeff Lorber   Keyboards,Clavinet,Vocoder,Synthesizer Bass
Tom Barney   Bass
Scott Breadman   Percussion
Dean Brown   Electric Guitar
Melvin Davis   Vocals,7-String Bass
Julio Fernandez   Guitar
Gene Lake   Drums
Will Lee   Bass
Romero Lubambo   Acoustic Guitar
Chuck Loeb   Guitar,Keyboards
Jason Miles   Synthesizer,Bass,Keyboards,Hammond Organ
Jeff Mironov   Guitar
Chris Parker   Drums
Marc Quiñones   Percussion,Conga
Dave Kochanski   Keyboards
Gannin Arnold   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Mike Ricchiuti   Keyboards,Electric Piano
Billy Heller   Synthesizer Strings
Cassandra Reed   Vocals

Technical Credits

Ivan Lins   Composer
Jeff Lorber   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Steve Addabbo   Engineer
Melvin Davis   Engineer,drum programming
Steve Gaboury   Engineer
Chris Jennings   Engineer
Chuck Loeb   Arranger,Composer,drum programming,Percussion Programming
Eric Marienthal   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer
Sonny Mediana   Art Direction
Jason Miles   Composer,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Doug Oberkircher   Engineer
Roberto Vally   Composer
Mark Wexler   Executive Producer
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Dave Kochanski   Composer
Guilherme Reis   Engineer
Andi Howard   Executive Producer
Fatima Guedes   Composer
Ulysses Noriega   Engineer
David Winslow   Engineer
Cassandra Reed   Composer
Ed Hurtado   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews