Symphony No. 101 (Clock): Miniature Score, Miniature Score

Symphony No. 101 (Clock): Miniature Score, Miniature Score

by Franz Joseph Haydn (Composer)

Paperback(Miniature Score)



According to Pohl, the D major symphony (No. 4 of the old, No 101 of the new Breitkopf's collective edition) is the eleventh one in the series of twelve English symphonies which Haydn composed for the London Salmon concerts. It was written in 1794 and first performed at London at the Haymarket Theatre on May 4, 1795. In England it is usually bynamed "The Clock" owing to the quavers accompanying the Andante movement and resembling the monotonous tick-tack of a clock. In some German editions this byname has been wrongly translated into "Glockensymphonie" (Bell symphony).

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780769294193
Publisher: Alfred Music
Publication date: 03/01/1985
Series: Kalmus Edition Series
Edition description: Miniature Score
Pages: 72
Product dimensions: 4.90(w) x 6.50(h) x 0.30(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews