Tómas Luis de Victoria: Sacred Works

Tómas Luis de Victoria: Sacred Works

by Michael Noone


$35.18 $43.99 Save 20% Current price is $35.18, Original price is $43.99. You Save 20%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22


2011 marks the 400th anniversary of the death of famed Spanish Renaissance composer Tomás Luis de Victoria. Arguably the finest composer of Spain’s Golden Age, the famed polyphonist is frequently compared to Palestrina and Lassus and is equal to their greatest achievements. Ensemble Plus Ultra has newly recorded 93 works by Victoria to honor this anniversary, released in this monumental 10-CD box set by Deutsche Grammophon & Archiv Produktion.

Although Victoria may not be as well known today as in the 16th century, Ensemble Plus Ultra and these new recordings afford the opportunity for a sizeable reassessment of his work. The group has been dedicated since its foundation in 2001 to the music of the glorious Spanish Renaissance and after ten years has a strong history of performing and recording this music. On this series of 10 CDs, brought together in one box, 42 musicians from more than five countries have come together to record 93 works by Victoria. The entire venture took more than 70 days of rehearsals and recording and resulted in 11.5 hours of newly recorded Masses, Lamentations, Motets, Magnificats, and more.

For this project, the group chose to focus on the more than 25 years Victoria spent in Madrid, during which time he published more than half of his compositional output. All of the works in his landmark publication of 1600, the Missae, Magnificat, motecta, psalmi et alia quam plurima published by the royal printer, Juan de Flandes, have been included in this set. In addition, there are recordings of many works by Victoria that are found only in manuscripts and have been specially edited for this project and that have never before been recorded. Highlights in this category include the nine lamentations that are preserved in a Sistine Chapel manuscript and the 12 works (including three masses and six magnificats) from a manuscript choirbook at Toledo cathedral. Other previously unrecorded masterworks include Bovicelli’s extraordinary virtuosic arrangement of Victoria’s Vadam et circuibo and a large number of ‘alternatim’ works featuring verses for organ, plainsong, and wind instruments.

In this exciting venture, Ensemble Plus Ultra was joined by the specialist instrumentalists of His Majestys Sagbutts & Cornetts (dir. Jeremy West), Spanish plainsong specialists Schola Antiqua (dir. Juan Carlos Asensio), and renowned organists Andrés Cea Galan and Mahan Esfahani. The recordings feature the historic organs of San Pedro in Tordesillas and the collegiate church of San Pedro in Lerma. The entire project was directed by Michael Noone. From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 09/27/2011
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
UPC: 0028947797470
catalogNumber: 001587602
Rank: 30766


  1. Hostis Herodes impie, hymn for 4 voices
  2. Ego sum panis vivus, motet for 4 voices
  3. Date ei de fructu, motet for 4 voices
  4. Magnificat quinti toni (even), for 4 voices
  5. Ecce nunc benedicite (Psalm 133), for 8 voices
  6. Aurea luce, hymn for 4 voices
  7. Lauda mater ecclesia, hymn for 4 voices
  8. O doctor optime, motet for 4 voices
  9. Tibi, Christe, splendor Patris, hymn for 4 voices
  10. Christe, redemptor omnium [I], hymn for 4 voices
  11. Ut queant laxis, hymn for 4 voices
  12. Magnificat primi toni (even), for 4 voices
  13. Magnificat octavi toni (odd), for 4 voices

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews