Tahoe of the North: A Season of Essence

Tahoe of the North: A Season of Essence


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, August 27


'Tahoe of the North,' is the second volume in the Rainbow Roads Trilogy. It is now ten years later, 1939, in the lives of the Tara, Hiram and Poly Jack. In volume one, 'The Longest Wooden Railroad,' Tara Jack, the oldest daughter of Hiram and Polly, tried hard be the son her father always wanted. Now as an adult, she lives alone in Eugene and has given up on the idea of marriage. Due to her unusual size and strength she is drawn to men's work at the Eugene Planing Mill. Her solitary life is suddenly shattered by a recurring troubling dream. Someone wants her dead. Fleeing Eugene seems the only alternative. But, before she leaves she settles and old score. Riding away on Scout, her faithful horse, and only friend, she finds sanctuary in the Cascade Mountains of Central Oregon atop Waldo Mountain, as a fire lookout. The unspoiled beauty and pristine wilderness around Waldo Lake, inspire a journey of self discovery for Tara. There, she learns to love herself and her rugged glass house atop Waldo mountain. And, to her surprise, despite her isolation, two men want to love her. An old enemy returns and a delightful mix new characters provide a backdrop for this work of historical fiction. Tara and her friends must each face their own, Season of Essence.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781499654721
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 11/06/2015
Pages: 288
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.65(d)

About the Author

David C. Hascall hold two Masters Degrees and worked for 40 years as a Registered Nurse in Eugene, Oregon, specializing in Diabetes Education and Chronic Disease Care. He is now retired. He lives with his wife Barbara.He has two grown children. He enjoys international travel, fishing, family activities, walking his two Beagles and writing. He grew up in a small lumber town similar to the one written about in his first book, 'The Longest Wooden Railroad,'volume one in his Rainbow Roads Trilogy. He served as a lookout and fireguard for the Willamette National Forest as a youth and volunteered over the years doing guard station and trail repair; the events inspired the second book, 'Tahoe of the North,' "Using his personal experiences, his books trace a changing mood toward forest usage. He draws the reader closer to the beauty of our fragile environment with adventure after adventure. While his books offer a regional interest, his wry writing style and self described, "hysterical take" a comical view toward selected events in history, offer the reader a refreshing view of past events."Fiction does a better job of the truth."

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews