Take a Vacation!

Take a Vacation!

by The Young Veins
3.8 4


$13.54 $15.99 Save 15% Current price is $13.54, Original price is $15.99. You Save 15%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, August 24 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Take a Vacation!

Panic at the Disco were clearly looking backwards to the ambitious psychedelic pop of the Beatles circa Sgt. Pepper's on their 2008 album Pretty. Odd., but it seems that guitarists Ryan Ross and Jon Walker wanted to dig even deeper into rock & roll's past. In 2009, Ross and Walker quit Panic at the Disco to form their own group, and the first album from their new combo the Young Veins, Take a Vacation!, is clearly influenced by early British Invasion era pop
ock, particularly the crunch and melodic sense of the Kinks, the graceful energy of the Hollies, and the tuneful smarts of the Searchers. While there are flashes on Take a Vacation! where the Young Veins seem to view this music through revisionist glasses in the manner of Big Star or Shoes, for the most part, this sounds and feels like an honest and heartfelt homage to both the style and the era, and punk rock insouciance never really enters the picture -- except for "Defiance," these 11 songs are as well scrubbed and well mannered as anything that hit the charts in 1965, and the production (four numbers by Rob Mathes, the others by Alex Greenwald) is simple and unobtrusive enough to recall the one-take-wonders of the era. The youthful angst that pervades the lyrics is about the only audible clue to Ross and Walker's emo past, though they're not all that far from the teen tragedies that were a big part of AM radio back in the day, and it's possible that Take a Vacation! acknowledges a vital influence rather than merely paying tribute to a style close to their hearts. Either way, it's a well-crafted pop album with some fine tunes and pitch-perfect performances, through it does beg the question of whether Ross and Walker intend to stay in 1965 or keep moving a bit further back in time with each record.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/08/2010
Label: One Haven Music
UPC: 0855105002042
catalogNumber: 103
Rank: 45990

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Young Veins   Primary Artist
Alex Greenwald   Bass,Guitar,Harmonium,Vocals,Wurlitzer,Stylophone
Than Luu   Drums
Jason Boesel   Drums
Eric Ronick   Keyboards
Nick White   Keyboards,Group Member
Ryan Ross   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Jon Walker   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Nick Murray   Drums,Group Member
Mike Runion   Vocals
Michael Fujikawa   Vocals
Danny Fujikawa   Vocals
Andy Soukal   Bass,Group Member

Technical Credits

Rob Mathes   Producer,Vocal Arrangements
Dave Kaplan   Booking
Alex Greenwald   Producer
Kevin Harp   Engineer
Ryan Ross   Composer,Art Direction
Jon Walker   Composer
David Serre   Art Direction
Scott Nagelberg   Management
Justin Bridgewater   Booking
Jonathan Daniel   Management
Danny Fujikawa   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Take a Vacation! 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago