Take Action!, Vol. 6

Take Action!, Vol. 6

5.0 1

CD(Digi-Pak / Bonus DVD)

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, September 28 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Take Action!, Vol. 6

Another year, another Take Action! compilation. The fight against suicide will, unfortunately, never be over, so it's at least nice to see charitable people like those at Hopeless and Sub City consistently doing their part to raise awareness on the subject and provide resources for those in need. To do so, they've rounded up another diverse collection of songs spanning punk, emo and indie rock in the early 21st century, drawing listeners in with tracks from old favorites alongside the ripe opportunity to discover new loves. A PSA from the Red Jumpsuit Apparatus opens Vol. 6's first disc (Rise Against handles disc two's intro). The music then launches forth with My Chemical Romance's dramatic "This Is How I Disappear," followed with strong showings by Senses Fail ("Calling All Cars"), Paramore (the sweetly urgent "Emergency") and the sisterly, slightly haunting pop
ock of Meg & Dia's "Monster." Even All Time Low's quintessential pop-punk ("Coffee Shop Soundtrack") is a good time. The disc's early melody eventually drops into much heavier terrain, ending with cuts from metal and hardcore acts like Drop Dead, Gorgeous, In Flames, Into Eternity, and Misery Signals. The stronger of the two discs, the second offers up excellent tracks from relative punk veterans like Rise Against, the Casualties, and Anti-Flag, and it's actually kind of funny, the placement of No Trigger's "Bust Tropical" right before Strike Anywhere's heartfelt "Instinct," because for second, you'd swear they were the same band. The Falcon and Heavens carry the flag for well-done side projects (of the Lawrence Arms/Alkaline Trio and Alkaline Trio, respectively). Indie pop shines with songs by the Hush Sound ("Wine Red"), Lakes ("Indian Lover") and Copeland ("Control Freak"), while Damiera lends the vaguely Coheed-esque "Via Invested" and These Arms Are Snakes' snotty "Horse Girl" goes down with a nice chaotic punch. With partial proceeds going to charity, Take Action! compilations have always been great investments (and small ones at that with price tags under $10). And with this year's bonus DVD of practically 30 music videos to go along -- Emery, Hellogoodbye, Converge, Murder by Death and Set Your Goals among contributors -- there's really no easier way to help a great cause and sample some great new music at the same time.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/06/2007
Label: Sub City Records
UPC: 0790692003525
catalogNumber: 35
Rank: 148904


Disc 1

  1. Psa
  2. This Is How I Disappear
  3. The Ponytail Parades
  4. Drowning
  5. Calling All Cars
  6. Miami
  7. There's a Class for This
  8. Coffee Shop Soundtrack
  9. Emergency
  10. Monster
  11. Accidents
  12. Not Good Enough for Truth in Cliché
  13. The Last American Cowboy
  14. Hang 'Em High
  15. Daniel, Where's the Boat?
  16. Mushroom River
  17. Come Clarity
  18. Reignite the Fires
  19. Timeless Winter
  20. The Failsafe
  21. Taking Cassandra to the End of the World Party

Disc 2

  1. Psa
  2. Amber Changing
  3. This Is the End
  4. VIP
  5. Bust Tropical
  6. Instinct
  7. The La-Z-Boy 500
  8. Don't Care
  9. Horse Girl
  10. Patent Pending
  11. Break the Silence
  12. Life Camp
  13. Ready and Willing
  14. Wine Red
  15. Via Invested
  16. Ultra High
  17. The Dutch Courage
  18. Campfire
  19. Control Freak
  20. Untouched & Intact
  21. Don't Call
  22. Indian Lover

Disc 3

  1. Psa
  2. Face Down
  3. Studying Politics
  4. My Darkest Hour
  5. Hang 'Em High
  6. New Moon Over Swift Water
  7. Calling All Cars
  8. Here in Your Arms
  9. Papercut Skin
  10. Hair
  11. The Space Between
  12. Monster
  13. Spectacle
  14. Brother
  15. Patent Pending
  16. This Is the End
  17. Mutiny!
  18. Instinct
  19. History
  20. The Last American Cowboy
  21. The New Black
  22. In Regards to Myself
  23. Severe Emotional Distress
  24. Crossing the Rubicon
  25. A Trigger Full of Promise
  26. Vegas Baby Vegas
  27. My Love, My Love
  28. Lost
  29. Eagles Become Vultures

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Take Action!, Vol. 6 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first CD I ever bought in my life. It was also one of the best. With two CDs and a DVD full of music videos and all for a really low price this was an amazing CD. It had some awsome songs by some awsome bands, some of which aren't well known. I'm so excited that the next compilation is out, I'm going to buy it as soon as I get to the store next. The fact that a portion of your money goes to a good cause makes the CD like no other too.