Take Me to the Land of Jazz

Take Me to the Land of Jazz

by Pee Wee Russell


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Take Me to the Land of Jazz

A unique presence in both traditional and early modern jazz, Charles Ellsworth Pee Wee Russell succeeded in translating the human genome's enormous range of beauty, sincerity, vulnerability and quirkiness into friendly, good-time music, standing his ground amongst masterful improvisers and legendary ensembles without ever sacrificing one crumb of individuality. Living Era's Take Me to the Land of Jazz may be approached as one of the best imaginable Pee Wee Russell collections ever made available on either side of the Atlantic. Spanning the years 1927-1946, it traces his early adventures with Bix Beiderbecke, Frankie Trumbauer, Miff Mole, the Mound City Blue Blowers, and Jack Bland's Rhythmakers. Russell is also heard as a consistently creative member of traditional jazz bands led by Eddie Condon, Wild Bill Davison, and Louis Prima, who sings "The Lady in Red" with uncontrived passion. Practically the entire second half of the collection features groups operating under Russell's leadership, with an awesome collective personnel list made up of his greatest and most accomplished colleagues, including pianist James P. Johnson, drummer Zutty Singleton, trombonist Vic Dickenson, saxophonist Bud Freeman, trumpeter Max Kaminsky, cornetist Muggsy Spanier, and singing trombonist Jack Teagarden.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/26/2001
Label: Asv Living Era
UPC: 0743625539127
catalogNumber: 5391

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Pee Wee Russell   Primary Artist,Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Louis Prima   Trombone,Violin
Henry "Red" Allen   Trumpet
Eddie Condon   Banjo,Guitar
Bud Freeman   Tenor Saxophone
Freddie Green   Guitar
Bobby Hackett   Cornet
Max Kaminsky   Trumpet
Gene Krupa   Drums
Muggsy Spanier   Cornet
Jack Teagarden   Trombone,Violin
Joe Venuti   Violin
Red Nichols   Cornet
Danny Alvin   Drums
Georg Brunis   Trombone
Joe Bushkin   Piano
Dick Cary   Piano
Brad Gowans   Valve Trombone
Miff Mole   Trombone
Adrian Rollini   Goofus,Bass Saxophone
Zutty Singleton   Drums
Joe Sullivan   Piano
Frankie Trumbauer   C-Melody Saxophone
George Wettling   Drums
Coleman Hawkins   Tenor Saxophone
Red McKenzie   Piano,Cornet
Wellman Braud   String Bass
Billy Banks   Vocals
Bix Beiderbecke   Cornet
Artie Bernstein   String Bass
Vic Berton   Drums
Jack Bland   Guitar
Dave Bowman   Piano
Bob Casey   String Bass
Big Sid Catlett   Drums
Bobby Davis   Alto Saxophone
Vic Dickenson   Trombone
Lennie Hayton   Piano
Chauncey Morehouse   Drums
Morgan   String Bass
Clyde Newcombe   String Bass
Floyd O'Brien   Trombone
Bill Rank   Trombone
Jack Ryan   String Bass
Gene Schroeder   Piano
Artie Shapiro   String Bass
Frank Signorelli   Piano
Jess Stacy   Piano
Sid Weiss   String Bass
Dicky Wells   Trombone
Sam Weiss   Drums
Garry McAdams   Guitar
Dick McDonough   Guitar
Frank Pinero   Piano
Joe Grauso   Drums
Alex Hill   Piano
Gold   Tenor Saxophone
James P. Johnson & His Orchestra   Piano

Technical Credits

Eddie Condon   Composer
Johnny Hodges   Composer
James P. Johnson   Composer
Pee Wee Russell   Composer
Red McKenzie   Composer
Jack Pettis   Composer
Henry Creamer   Composer
Milt Gabler   Composer
Eddie Green   Composer
Cliff Jackson   Composer
Bert Kalmar   Composer
Ballard MacDonald   Composer
Gordon Means   Composer
Leo Robin   Composer
Harry Ruby   Composer
Elmer Schoebel   Composer
Ted Snyder   Composer
Clarence Williams   Composer
Spencer Williams   Composer
Sam M. Lewis   Composer
Billy Meyers   Composer
Eddie Condon & His Band   Contributor
Frankie Trumbauer & His Orchestra   Contributor
Vic Bellerby   Liner Notes
Mound City Blue Blowers   Contributor
Joe Young   Composer
Harry Akst   Composer
Edgar Leslie   Composer
Lewis Gensler   Composer
Pete Wendling   Composer
Louis Prima & His New Orleans Gang   Contributor
James Hanley   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews