×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Talent (Zoey Dean's Talent Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Talent (Zoey Dean's Talent Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Talent (Zoey Dean's Talent Series #1)
     

Talent (Zoey Dean's Talent Series #1)

4.4 34
by Zoey Dean
 

It's all about talent in LA: who has it, who doesn't, who wants it, and who can find it first!

When thirteen-year-old Mac Armstrong witnesses newcomer Emily Mungler's stellar lying-to-gain-entry performance during a movie premiere party at the Roosevelt in Hollywood, it dawns on her that her own talent is to discover it in others! So Mac and her BFFs set out

Overview

It's all about talent in LA: who has it, who doesn't, who wants it, and who can find it first!

When thirteen-year-old Mac Armstrong witnesses newcomer Emily Mungler's stellar lying-to-gain-entry performance during a movie premiere party at the Roosevelt in Hollywood, it dawns on her that her own talent is to discover it in others! So Mac and her BFFs set out to prove it by turning fresh-from- Cedartown-Iowa Emily into a box office bombshell. They'll make deals, throw parties, crush on boys, all on the way to discovering that no matter how famous or important you are, friendship always comes first. Well, almost always.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Dean (the A-List series) is as of the moment as Us Weekly when it comes to fashion and celebrity lifestyles. Her devotees will lap up this first installment of her new series, this time about the cutthroat lives of the middle-school set, daughters of Hollywood royalty. The chapters switch between four "rising eighths"-Mac, Becks, Coco and the about-to-be "discovered" Emily from Iowa. The story has zero girl-bonding sweetness and all the backstabbing, social-climbing and girls living life as if they're adults that genre fans expect and love. There may not be a single redeeming value among these mocktail-drinking characters (with the possible exception of Emily), but with name brand-dropping every other sentence, sometimes in clever prose-"What in the world did Ruby Goldman have up her cropped James Perse sleeve?"-together with super-catty dialogue and gossipy prose, the page-turning becomes compulsive. Ages 12-up. (June)

Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
Children's Literature - Miriam Gottschalk
I couldn't bring myself to read this book cover to cover. My initial reaction was "Such drivel?I can't read this (expletive)." I read the first few chapters and scanned the rest, reading the last two chapters, and was so negatively impressed by the shallow, shameless and crass materialism, and the mention on practically every page of some brand-named product. If this were a fashion magazine, it would probably be nearly 1,000 pages instead of 288. And those pages would be more interesting than the bulk of this book because they would be in color in an effort to appeal to the acquisitive nature of we humans, especially impressionable pre-adolescents and adolescents. There are references on nearly every page to name-brands, which this reader found distracting and annoying, if not irresponsibly shallow. Why such drivel should pass as suitable reading material for teens is beyond me. If the author didn't seek some reimbursement for the advertisements, she's missing an opportunity to maximize the return on her "literary" efforts. The one redeeming factor I found is that the main character's mother did exert her influence over the girl's apparel and the girl did obey her mother without a hissy fit. Reviewer: Miriam Gottschalk

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781595141781
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
06/19/2008
Series:
Zoey Dean's Talent Series , #1
Pages:
304
Product dimensions:
5.06(w) x 6.94(h) x 0.83(d)
Lexile:
810L (what's this?)
Age Range:
14 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Zoey Dean is the author of the national bestselling The AList series. She divides her time between Beverly Hills and several small islands in the Caribbean. She just finished her first adult novel How to Teach Filthy Rich Girls.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Talent (Zoey Dean's Talent Series #1) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
You have to have TALENT to make it in this world.

Meet Bel-Air Middle School's social queens: Mackenzie, Evangelina, and Cordelia.

Mackenzie Little-Armstrong has everything, except for one major important thing... talent. It's pretty obvious to Mackenzie that she has no talent, especially when she is compared to her mother, an agent; her father, a screenwriter; her older brother, Jenner, a surfer; and her younger sister, Maude, a genius. It's even obvious to People magazine. So now Mackenzie has to find her talent fast before anyone has the chance to knock her off her high horse.

Evangelina Becks is proud to be one of the best female surfers out there. Being out on the waves isn't the least bit scary, but having a crush on her best guy friend, Austin Holloway, is. Can she ignore the feeling she gets whenever he's around, or will she speak up before it's too late?

Cordelia Kingsley is a wonderful singer, which makes sense since her mother, Cardammon, is one of the biggest names in the music industry. And since duo groups are in, Cardammon made sure that her daughter was paired up with the perfect person. The only thing is, the other half of this up-and-coming group just so happens to be Mackenzie's enemy.

Then there is Emily Mungler who, with her mom and best friend, Paige Harrington, is visiting Hollywood. All the glitz and glamour was just how she expected it to be. Like everyone else, Emily has a talent, a secret talent. So secret that she doesn't even know about it either: she can act.

Mackenzie notices Emily's talent and wants to make sure that it doesn't go unnoticed. While trying to help Emily, Mackenzie just might be able to finder her own talent along the way.

TALENT is the newest guilty pleasure that will have you hooked. Fans of THE A-LIST and THE CLIQUE now have another series they need to get their hands on.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My friend read this book, and said it was good, so I went ahead and bought it. This book is so awsome! I read Girls on Film, one of Zoey Deans A-list books, and I didn't like it but this book is a billon times better!! Read it!!!! You wont be disapointed!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i loved this book... it was honestly incrediblee! i will reread and reread this book after i finish the entire seriess...
Cytheria More than 1 year ago
I recently got Talent as a gift from a relative and after skimming the back I decided to read the book. It was a good book, and I plan on buying the next two books because is was an enjoyable read. However, after reading a few chapters I realized it was very much like the Clique Series(which I love), though a bit of a knock-off, L.A. version. Also, sometimes it's tiring of hearing all about their fabulous clothing, gorgeous looks(i.e. She looked like an Abercrombie model), perfect sizing(i.e. All the clothes fit her tiny size two frame), and their ridiculously perfect lives. But if you love the Clique, then you'll more than likely love this book. Also, it's way more interesting and better than the A-List series also by Zoey Dean for those readers who are hesitant to buy because of the author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a good book to read.Entertaining for teens,probably older people too.Has a usual moral lesson at the end,just like most young adult books.The ending was kind of rushed though,which is uncomfortable to read.And the book doesn't stand out,it isn't really special and is just like other teen fiction books.Still,it's worth your attention.But if you're over typical cliques,popularity races,the rich and beautiful and Hollywood-people who always seem to have perfect privileged lives.Then this definitely isn't the book for you.It's light-weight and small for travel too.A worthwhile buy.But you CAN wait for a Sale for this.Take my advice,GL!
Guitarcali More than 1 year ago
Wow. I mean, just WOW. This book blew me away. I am a proud owner of all three books and they are just fabulous. A luv how real it is: the girls live in LA and have the designer clothes, huge homes and rich parents, but still stay true to their friends, etc. It's quite similar to The Clique, minus the boys! I would recomned it to anyone and everyone. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liddia More than 1 year ago
I got an email about this book last summer, so I thought i would go and buy it and see how it was. I had heard about the A List series, and I thought it was boring, so when I bought this book, I thought it would be boring too, but it was THE EXACT OPPOSITE!!!! This book is AMAZING and I think that any1 who likes books like The Clique, or just realistic fiction should read this! oh and The A-List is probably the MOST BORING series ever. I dont know how zoey dean could write such horrible books, because Talent and Almost Famous are AMAZING but The A-List is not.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BrittanyAllen More than 1 year ago
I don't usally read these kinds of books. I usally read fantasy, but I'm glad that i dicided to read this book because it was actually fun to read. I really enjoyed reading it and couldn't put it down. I would defenatly tell others to read it. I think every younge girl should read it. You should REALLY consider reading this book. I loved it and I'm sure you will to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Puffball More than 1 year ago
This book is about a girl and she visits LA with her friend and a rich girl tries to make her famous. I reccomnd this book if you like realistic fiction and a interesting story about
a girls and their lives. This is a great book and you will love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pinkiepie5 More than 1 year ago
This book is so great. my best friend said i would loved it and she was right.you should read this book its so coool!