Talk Memphis [Expanded Edition]

Talk Memphis [Expanded Edition]

by Jesse Winchester


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, September 27  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Talk Memphis [Expanded Edition]

Having rushed to make Nothing But a Breeze and A Touch on the Rainy Side and getting his two least impressive albums for his trouble, Jesse Winchester spent two-and-a-half years woodshedding before returning to the record racks with Talk Memphis. For the album, he returned to his hometown and worked with producer Willie Mitchell, best known for his Al Green records. It wasn't as unlikely a match as might be imagined; Winchester had always had a soulful, flexible voice as ready as Green's to take off into the upper registers to express emotion. And Memphis-style R&B had always been an element, along with country, folk, pop, and gospel, in Winchester's sound. On his early albums, his lighthearted style had been in the service of an embattled vision, but gradually that darkness gave way, to the point that he began to seem lightweight. Talk Memphis put his effervescence and musicality to good use, resulting in his first Top 40 hit, the catchy "Say What," and the rest of the album was just as easy on the ears, with the title track providing a suitably gritty Memphis-soul sendoff. But that wasn't enough to break the album beyond the bottom rungs of the charts, and after seven albums in 11 years, Winchester left the world of major-label record-making.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/15/2012
Label: Edsel Records Uk
UPC: 0740155107635
catalogNumber: 5510763
Rank: 46147


  1. Say What
  2. Baby Blue
  3. Leslie
  4. Hoot and Holler
  5. If Only
  6. Sure Enough
  7. I Love You No End
  8. Let Go
  9. Reckon On Me
  10. Talk Memphis
  11. It Don't Do a Thing for Me
  12. She's All I'll Ever Need
  13. You Don't Even Know (How Pretty You Are)
  14. Payday
  15. Rhumba Man
  16. Yankee Lady

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews