TalkRx: Five Steps to Honest Conversations That Create Connection, Health, and Happiness

TalkRx: Five Steps to Honest Conversations That Create Connection, Health, and Happiness

by Neha Sangwan M.D.


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 18  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details


TalkRx: Five Steps to Honest Conversations That Create Connection, Health, and Happiness by Neha Sangwan M.D.

Do you say yes when you really mean no? Do you avoid conflict at all costs? Are you waiting for someone in your life to change in order to get what you want? If so, you’re not alone. Most people will do anything to avoid the unpleasant sensations that accompany having an honest exchange—even if it’s as simple as declining an invitation. But not speaking directly in the short term results in a much bigger problem long-term: hurt feelings and passive-aggressive patterns that stress us out, keep us up at night, and literally make us sick. You might be thinking, Communication? I know how to communicate. Don’t be fooled. Communication is simple, but it’s not always easy. Many of us learn from an early age to be guarded about what and how we share with others. Few of us know how to pay attention to our body, thoughts, emotions, and values in order to speak from the heart. In this book, Neha Sangwan, M.D., reveals practical yet profound communication tools that will strengthen your relationships, reduce your stress, improve your health, and even save you time. Having treated thousands of patients in one of the nation’s largest hospital systems, Doctor Neha discovered a theme: her patients’ inability to communicate often played an underlying role in their illness and how well they were able to recover. Once she understood this correlation, she was inspired to create the simple five-step process you’ll learn in this book. TalkRx will lead you step-by-step to listen to your body’s signals to better manage stress, create new outcomes with even the most challenging personalities in your life, articulate your frustration and disappointment effectively, talk to people instead of about them; make agreements that stick; and more.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781401942489
Publisher: Hay House Inc.
Publication date: 05/03/2016
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 360
Sales rank: 1,276,124
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 9.30(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Neha Sangwan, M.D., the CEO and founder of Intuitive Intelligence, is an internal medicine physician and corporate communication expert. Her private practice and corporate consulting focuses on empowering individuals, organizational leaders, and their teams with the tools for clear, effective communication. She addresses the root cause of stress, miscommunication, and interpersonal conflict, often healing chronic conditions such as headaches, insomnia, anxiety, and depression. As a speaker, author, and coach, Doctor Neha has shared her discoveries on the stages of TEDx Berkeley and TEDx San Luis Obispo. She speaks for and partners with organizations such as the American Heart Association, American Express, Kaiser Permanente, and Google. Doctor Neha earned her Bachelor of Science degree in mechanical and biomedical engineering from Michigan State University and worked as a manufacturing engineer for Motorola before attending medical school at the State University of New York (SUNY) at Buffalo. She completed her internal medicine residency training at Temple University Hospital and subsequently her board certification. Website:

Table of Contents

I Wonder xi

Step 1 Interpreting Your Body 1

Chapter 1 Missing What's Right in Front of You 5

Chapter 2 Knock, Knock. Guess Who? 21

Chapter 3 Numbing Out 39

Chapter 4 Tuning In 49

Chapter 5 Mixed Messages 57

Step 2 Interpreting Your Thoughts 67

Chapter 6 Fact Versus Fiction 71

Chapter 7 Mind Chatter 79

Chapter 8 Pointing the Finger 93

Chapter 9 What Do You Mean-My Responsibility? 103

Chapter 10 Listening-A Sound Discussion 111

Step 3 Interpreting Your Emotions 125

Chapter 11 The Elephant in the Room 129

Chapter 12 A Family of Emotions 145

Chapter 13 Raining Down 155

Chapter 14 Taming the Volcano Within 165

Chapter 15 The Sky Is Not Falling 181

Step 4 Interpreting Your Desires 197

Chapter 16 The Consequences of Not Knowing 201

Chapter 17 20/20 Vision 215

Chapter 18 Love and Gratitude 225

Chapter 19 Finding Common Ground 235

Chapter 20 The Communication Tango 243

Step 5 Integrating into Action 253

Chapter 21 He Said, She Said 255

Chapter 22 Prep for Success 265

Chapter 23 Learning to Trust 271

Chapter 24 The i-Five Conversation 285

Chapter 25 Surrender 303

Rewriting History 307

Notes 311

Resources 314

Acknowledgments 315

About the Author 319

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews