Talk to La Bomb

Talk to La Bomb

by Brazilian Girls


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Talk to La Bomb

With their lead singer sensually delivering her witty lyrics in five different languages while the band skillfully flirts with house, dub, and plenty of other cosmopolitan genres of music in the background, the Brazilian Girls' Talk to La Bomb revisits nearly all the elements that made their 2005 self-titled debut such a thrill, but the songwriting has slipped a bit, welcoming the beloved act to the sophomore slump. With great ideas hidden deep inside wandering tracks and more loose numbers than it should have, Talk to La Bomb feels a lot like the B-sides and remixes collections plenty of other bands follow a killer debut with, which means fans will get something substantial out of it but they won't be able to convert their friends. There's still some solid reason to cheer for the band with the Ric Ocasek-produced "Last Call" being a delicious kind of comfortable pop-house, while "Sweatshop" offers a winning combination of sexuality and Stereolab. The tribal "Tourist Trap" gets reckless in the tropics with its fun tale of "lighting up at the pool/peeing into the ocean" and the closing "Problem" is the Vogue magazine/punk rocker the Girls always seemed to have in them, but tracks like "Sexy Asshole" and "Never Met a German" are forgettable and feel like they were written because somebody dropped a clever song name. Talk to La Bomb indulges every whim you'd expect on an odds-and-sods compilation, so pretend it is and adjust your expectations accordingly.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/12/2006
Label: Verve Forecast
UPC: 0602498509609
catalogNumber: 000622402

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Brazilian Girls   Primary Artist
Ric Ocasek   Guitar
Clark Gayton   Trombone,Tuba,Cornet,Euphonium
James Zollar   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Didi Gutman   Keyboards,Background Vocals,Group Member
Mauro Refosco   Percussion
Aaron Johnston   Drums,Background Vocals,Group Member
Sabina Sciubba   Vocals,Group Member
Jesse Murphy   Bass,Background Vocals,Group Member
Jorge Continentino   Flute,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone

Technical Credits

Ric Ocasek   Producer
Barry Reynolds   Composer,Contributor
Clark Gayton   Arranger
Mark Plati   Producer,Engineer
Art Smith   Drum Technician
Jason Darling   Composer
Zeke Zima   Engineer
Frederik Rubens   Engineer
Héctor Castillo   Engineer
Adria Petty   Art Direction
Brazilian Girls   Composer
Steven "Steve O" George   Engineer
Christopher Frederick   Art Direction
Petar Podzemaljac   Drawing

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews