Tangerine

Tangerine

by Marilynn Griffith

Paperback

$9.18 $12.99 Save 29% Current price is $9.18, Original price is $12.99. You Save 29%.

Overview

Fans of Pink and Jade will eat up Tangerine, the third book in the cutting-edge Shades of Style series. Jean Guerra, a designer at Garments of Praise design firm, doesn't like surprises. These days though, the unexpected meets her everywhere. Since Jean's return to the church a year ago, her God-encounters occur with increasing frequency, along with thoughts of her husband-the one she vowed to divorce and gave up on long ago. The one nobody at work knows about, not even her best friend, Lily, or her boss, Chenille. But when the designer assigned to work with Jean on a line of men's suits shows up, her heart flips. It's her husband, Nigel Salvador. Jean is finally rendered speechless. Can her bruised heart become whole enough to love again? Or will she remain in the trenches of loneliness forever?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780800730420
Publisher: Baker Publishing Group
Publication date: 01/28/2007
Series: Shades of Style Series , #3
Pages: 304
Product dimensions: 5.54(w) x 8.52(h) x 0.76(d)

About the Author

Marilynn Griffith is a freelance writer and conference speaker whose online columns and blogs reach thousands of women each year. She is the author of Pink and Jade, and has contributed to Chicken Soup for the Christian Woman's Soul, Proverbs for the People, and For Better or for Worse. Marilynn lives in Tallahassee, Florida, with her husband and seven children.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Tangerine 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you¿re looking for a delicious read, Tangerine¿s your book. Third in her Shades of Style series, Tangerine is the story of Jean Guerra, one of the characters who inhabit the Garments of Praise fashion house. Marilynn easily draws you into her story and makes you love her characters. Tangerine is a story about a failed marriage, second chances, the love of family and the importance of friends. Jean is renewing her relationship with God and is feeling her way through a maze of familial and friendship relationships. I just wish I could have parked my feet under Jean¿s table and shared my heart with her. The first two books, Pink and Jade chronicled the stories of Raya and Lily¿I can¿t wait for the fourth book to release and complete the circle by telling us the story of Chenille.
Deborah_K More than 1 year ago
Jean is the third member of the Garments of Praise team that we get to meet in the Shades of Style series. She's all set to start designing on outfits for NBA teams when the person brought in to collaborate with her is her estranged husband who she hasn't talked to in years because he's been in prison. Nigel tries his best to reconcile with Jean but there's a big wall he has to break down in order to get to her. The two struggle with their relationship as they try to find out how to work together and maybe rekindle the love they once had. While I enjoyed reading this book, I didn't like it as much as Pink or Jade. Maybe it's because there was such a big age difference between Jean vs Raya and Lily and I could relate more to the two younger women. Jean's also a grandmother which didn't really fit my image of chick lit and the story is more heavy than the other two. However I did enjoy reading about Jean discovering a new relationship with her estranged husband Nigel. This book tackles a lot of heavy subjects such as Nigel being wrongly accused and still put in jail, Monica's problems due to a lack of a father in her life, and what a couple has to deal with when one member has been unfaithful. Jean is very reluctant at first to accept Nigel and it's understandable with the hurt he's gone through. There were lots to learn about the Latino culture in this book. I've always found the idea of a quinceañera very cool and interesting because in the US we don't have something that's equal to it. I liked the fact that it took the granddaughter's help to get the couple back together. It was also very cool to read about hearing designing clothes for NBA teams. Very awesome job. I'd recommend this book for fans of the Shades of Style series. Looking forward to reading about Chenille's story in Turquoise!
MichelleSutton More than 1 year ago
The premise behind the novel is fabulous and unique. The couple is married, yet they were separated for such a LONG time that they lost touch with each other. The setup is very believable. Plus, they aren't young anymore (though I suppose that is a matter of opinion) and they even have a teenage granddaughter. Side note**The author still makes them sound attractive, so you tend to forget they are getting gray hair. Also, I love the morality and guilt issues woven into the plot regarding the hero's relationship with Carmen. That made for some great tension. I also loved those Murphy's Law moments interspersed through the story. It makes for some page-turning reading. The cultural dynamics were also very well-done as were the many things these friends learned from each other during their journeys. There were so many wonderful sub-plots and resolutions that revealed the depth of each character that I was amazed at times with how the author brought out the life in them. These people seemed real like they were my friends, neighbors, relatives, etc. And the romance between the hero and heroine was downright delectable. Yummy! The love scenes and the gentle humor and camaraderie between the couple were a delight to experience.