Tangled in Time

Tangled in Time

by Barbara Longley

Paperback

$12.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Overview

A time-travel romance for fans of Diana Gabaldon and Hazel Hunter.

To set him free from an ancient curse, she must travel to a time of myth and legend…

Regan MacCarthy’s ability to see ghosts is a gift inherited from her Irish ancestors, but it’s one she’d dearly like to give back. In an attempt to return her powers to their source, she travels to Ireland to harness the ancient magic that still permeates the mystical site of Newgrange. Instead, something far more unexpected awaits her: a strapping, gorgeous stranger who insists he’s a centuries-old Celtic warrior.

Fáelán was one of Fionn MacCumhaill’s elite soldiers before being cursed by a resentful fae princess. The only way to free himself is to fall so deeply in love that he’d sacrifice his life. Not an easy matter when he’s invisible to most. Yet Regan sees him—not just the proud, handsome warrior on the surface, but the complex man beneath. Only when it’s too late does Fáelán realize that drawing this beautiful mortal into his world has endangered them both, and may destroy the happiness he’s waited an eternity to claim…

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781542048231
Publisher: Amazon Publishing
Publication date: 10/24/2017
Series: MacCarthy Sisters
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 587,065
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Barbara Longley is the award-winning author of the Novels of Loch Moigh. She moved frequently throughout her childhood and learned how to entertain herself with stories. As an adult, she has lived on an Appalachian commune, taught on an Indian reservation, and traveled the country from coast to coast. After having children of her own, Barbara made Minnesota her home.

Barbara holds a master’s degree in special education and taught for many years. She enjoys exploring all things mythical, paranormal, and otherwise newsworthy, channeling what she learns into her stories.

Barbara loves to connect with readers via Twitter @barbaralongley, on Facebook at www.facebook.com/Barbara-Longley, or through her website, www.barbaralongley.com. Readers can learn all about her new releases through her Amazon Author Page, www.amazon.com/Barbara-Longley.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Tangled in Time 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't often read this genre of book these days, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a sweet story of love conquering all. Regan has come to spend a year in Ireland to research her family history. She has inherited the gift of second sight, as have her two sisters Gracie and Meredith, although all have different talents. Regan can see ghosts, and is thoroughly weary of helping them pass over, and of bereaved relatives trying to get her to communicate with their departed souls. She is hoping that she will find relatives, or magic, that will close her off from it. She finds it very draining to have ghosts calling to her all the time. She sneaks into an ancient site before dawn, hoping to channel some of the magical energy she hopes to find there. Instead, she meets Faelan; she believes he is just another ghost, but he tries to make her understand that he is just trapped in another dimension due to a curse placed on him. He tells her that at the equinoxes and solstices the dimensions collide, and he had five days back in the normal dimension, where he hopes to find a woman who would see him, and fall in love with him, and he would be prepared to give up his life for, then the curse could be broken. Meanwhile, although Regan does not believe him, and refers to him as boastie ghostie, he offers to show her round the ancient sites that were ancient when he was alive, eighteen hundred years before. They get to know each other well, Regan still believes he is a ghost, but goes along with his story because she likes him. When the solstice occurs she discovers his story is true, he is a living, breathing and very amorous man! And the excitement really begins! Suffice it to say that Regan is very brave, and does everything in her power to rescue her man. She, and he, undergo many trials and tribulations, and at the end he is back in the third century, and doesn't remember her! Magic prevails, of course, and we have a delightfully happy ending. Barbara Longley must have kissed the Blarney Stone at some point, because the story makes very logical and compulsive reading. Loved it! I received an advance copy of this book from the author via NetGalley, in return for an honest review. All opinions expressed are entirely my own.
MikiHope 14 days ago
Regan MacCarthy sees, hears and is able to converse with ghosts--but doesn't really want to do it anymore. Her Mother wants her to get even more into it. So off to Ireland Regan goes to attempt to rid herself of this ability-or at least harness some magic to control it! She isn't having much luck. Then she turned around and a HUNK was standing behind her--she assumed he was a ghost--he insisted he wasn't. It seems he had been put under a spell-- Well as you can imagine it took Regan a very long time to believe him--meanwhile they were falling for one another-- Once Ragen figured out he was actually telling the truth--and the fae who had put the spell on him in the first place came and wisked him away--Ragen had to time travel to his century to try and undue what had happened-- There is a lot of time traveling back and forth for both of them. Nothing written in stone--the future is uncertain-Is Ragen able to undo what happened so that her HUNK can be a live human being in her century? You will have to read this to find out. And an enjoyable read it is!!
NNLight More than 1 year ago
Perfect for fans of Outlander and Jude Deveraux, Tangled in Time transports you to long-lost soulmates in the lush backdrop of Ireland. I love time travel romance and this one is incredible. I was so sad when it ended and can't wait for the next installment. Highly recommend! Disclaimer: I received an ARC from the author via Netgalley in the hopes I'd review it. My Rating: 5 stars
Kristen Bergh-Lewendon More than 1 year ago
Normally, I'm not a fan of time travel romance but I loved the author's contemporary work so much I had to give this one a try. I'm very glad I did. Regan is strong and feisty and independent; all things I love to see in heroines. She's also stubborn, opinionated, and quick to judge which I didn't like as much. In fact, her stubborn streak made me want to smack her for a lot of the first half of the book. But by the time we got into the second half she needed that stubbornness to see her through. Fáelán is like the knights of legend (without the heavy, clank-y metal armor). He's courageous, kind, honorable; all the things that make up the best heroes. My only problem with him was that he was a bit of a horn-dog. I guess nearly two thousand years without a woman will make some needs more insistent than others, so that trait's forgivable. The island came to life through the blending of ancient and modern Ireland as a backdrop to their story and many times it felt like I was there with Reagan and Fáelán. It's set an interesting stage for the stories of her sisters to follow. I received a complimentary advanced copy of this book through NetGalley.
LoveLeeAZ More than 1 year ago
I first fell in love with this author’s (Barbara Longley) series called The Novels of Loch Moigh. So when I heard she was releasing a new time travel series I was excited. I love time travel books. And was looking forward to a new series. And this book did not disappoint. Tangled in Time is the first of her new McCarthy Sisters series. It features Regan McCarthy, one of the sisters that is descended from a Fae. She and all of her sisters have special abilities. Regans is the gift of sight: the ability to see and communicate with ghosts. Unfortunately she is unable to just turn this power off and the constant barrage has drained her. So she goes to the ancient site of Newgrange in Ireland with the hopes that she can find a strong magic that can help her shut off her Fae gift. Instead she meets Faelan, a fenian warrior. She believes him to be yet another ghost, but he is not a ghost. He is something much different. He was cursed and for 1600 years has been searching for the woman who will break his curse. Is Regan the woman he has been waiting for? Will she be the one to break his curse? The author created such a wonderful story with so much depth to the characters and the unique world that they live in. And as an added bonus I loved learning more about the actual site Newgrange which this story takes root. That’s one of the reasons I love time travel books. It allows us to learn a bit about history. I can’t wait to see what the next books in the series will explore .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely amazing story!! So funny. There were a little bit of sad parts but mostly happy adventure. I could not put this book down. I cannot wait until the next book comes out. I'm dying for the next part in this series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm more than a little sad for this lovely story to end. Lucky for me there will be two more stories to look forward to. Thank you Barbara, you've done it again!!
FromTheSouth More than 1 year ago
The time travel clock ticks ever so slowly in this one, my fellow romance book loving friends. Though at first I was intrigued by the concept and the characters’ backgrounds, I found myself frustrated at the snail, slow pace in the first half of this book. As an avid romantic at heart, I’m usually very patient when it comes to waiting for the main couple to get tangled up in the sheets, mostly because I prefer a strong, established emotional connection to take place first. However, a considerable amount of time was spent on the ins and outs of Regan and her relatives’ ghostly gifts and Faelan fumbling around trying to convince Regan to recognize he did really need her to break a curse some may feel he earned. At nearly 30% into it, when a windy explanation with even more details about gravity, magnetism, realms, solstices and equinoxes was presented to try to lend some credibility to this fictitious scenario, I seriously started to question whether I was wasting my time and if I should just give up the ghost and move on to my next romantic read. At 62%, when after two big reveals and a task assigned to Regan that did not sit well with me, I found myself not wanting to suffer through how it all works out just to get to a HEA. I actually did push onward until 85%, and it still didn’t get any better for me, folks. Here’s to hoping others enjoy it. I just didn’t overly enjoy the author’s direction or delivery of this particular storyline. Title: Tangled in Time, Author: Barbara Longley, Pages: 268, stand-alone, paranormal, former bed hopping manho hero, didn’t know he was a daddy, likely deserved to be cursed, liked the concept but certain parts ruined it. (I received a free advanced reader copy provided via NetGalley in exchange for a fair review. No type of compensation was given to this reviewer. There is no relationship/affiliation between the reviewer and the author/publisher/NetGalley.)
Bette313 More than 1 year ago
I'm probably not the right person to review this one since paranormal, even light paranormal like this book, aren't really my thing. That's on me, I should have read the blurb fully. So I will base my review on the writing rather than the story itself. The story is very well constructed with great character develop. The story has a nice easy flow and pace. Overall it's very well done. The story is fun and magical. For those that enjoy light paranormal stories this one seems like a good one.