Tanglewood Tales for Girls and Boys: Six Fantastic Stories for Children

Tanglewood Tales for Girls and Boys: Six Fantastic Stories for Children

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Tanglewood Tales for Boys and Girls (1853) is a book by American author Nathaniel Hawthorne, a sequel to A Wonder-Book for Girls and Boys. It is a re-writing of some of the most famous of the ancient Greek myths in a volume for children. The book covers the myths of: (1) Theseus and the Minotaur (Chapter : "The Minotaur"), (2) Antaeus and the Pygmies (Chapter: "The Pygmies"), (3) Dragon's Teeth (Chapter: "The Dragon's Teeth"), (4) Circe's Palace (Chapter: "Circe's Palace"), (5) Proserpina, Ceres, Pluto, and the Pomegranate Seed (Chapter: "The Pomegranate Seed"), (6) Jason and the Golden Fleece (Chapter: "The Golden Fleece"). In addition there is an opening introduction, titled "The Wayside", in reference to The Wayside in Concord, Massachusetts, where Hawthorne lived from 1852 until his death and presumably where he was when he wrote the introduction. Hawthorne recounts a visit from his young friend Eustace Bright, who requested a sequel to Wonder Book, thus explaining the origin of Tales. Although Hawthorne informs us in the introduction that these stories were also later retold by Cousin Eustace, the frame stories of A Wonder-Book have been abandoned. Hawthorne wrote the book while renting a small cottage in the Berkshires, a popular vacation area for the wealthy industrialists of the Gilded Age. The owner of the cottage, a railroad baron, renamed the cottage "Tanglewood" in honor of the book written there. Later, a nearby mansion was renamed Tanglewood and hosted concerts which continue to this day. It is a pleasure to publish this new, high quality, and affordable edition of this book.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940012366207
Publisher: Petra Books
Publication date: 03/21/2011
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 219
File size: 389 KB
Age Range: 9 - 12 Years

About the Author

One of the greatest authors in American literature, Nathaniel Hawthorne (1804-1864) was a novelist and short story writer born in Salem, Massachusetts. Hawthorne’s best-known books include The House of the Seven Gables and The Scarlet Letter, works marked by a psychological depth and moral insight seldom equaled by other writers.

Date of Birth:

July 4, 1804

Date of Death:

May 19, 1864

Place of Birth:

Salem, Massachusetts

Place of Death:

Plymouth, New Hampshire


Bowdoin College, Brunswick, Maine, 1824

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews